Father Brown by GK Chesterton
Father Brown is the protagonist in a series of mystery stories by English author G.K. Chesterton. Father Brown is described as a short, stout Catholic priest. He is originally from Essex, but now resides and works in London. The character’s detective methods are more intuitive than deductive, in contrast to Sherlock Holmes. The character has appeared in many different adaptations produced in England, Germany and Italy.

G.K. Chesterton originally debuted his Father Brown character in the short story Valentin Follows a Curious Trail in 1910. It was re-published as The Blue Cross a few months later in a different publication. The first collection to be published was The Innocence of Father Brown, which came out in 1911. Below is a list of G.K. Chesterton’s Father Brown short story collections in order of wehn they were originally published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Publication Order of Father Brown Books

The Innocence of Father Brown(1911)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Wisdom of Father Brown(1914)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Incredulity of Father Brown(1923)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Secret of Father Brown(1927)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Scandal of Father Brown(1935)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Father Brown Books, You’ll Love…

Father Brown Synopsis: In the short story The Blue Cross by G.K. Chesterton, the characters Flambeau and Valentin are debuted. The story follows those two characters, rather than Father Brown. It was also published as Valentin Follows a Curious Trail in the Sunday Evening Post; it was re-titled for its publication in The Story-Teller. The story is found in the short story collection The Innocence of Father Brown. It is the first Father Brown short story.

Shop Worldwide: Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.ca

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Father Brown Books

Leave a Reply