Rei Shimura by Sujata Massey
Rei Shimura is the protagonist in a series of mystery novels and stories by English-American novelist Sujata Massey. Rei Shimura is an English teacher living and working in Tokyo, Japan. She is originally from California, born to a Japanese father and an American mother. Although while Stateside, Rei is mistaken to be full-blooded Japanese, she is considered to be a foreigner in Japan. Aside from teaching, she has also worked as an antiques dealer and a newspaper columnist. Her next job is one she happens upon – amateur sleuth.

Sujata Massey introduced readers to Rei Shimura in 1997 with her debut novel, The Salaryman’s Wife. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Sujata Massey’s Rei Shimura books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Sujata Massey releases a new book at

Publication Order of Rei Shimura Books

The Salaryman's Wife(1997)Description / Buy at
Zen Attitude(1998)Description / Buy at
The Flower Master(1999)Description / Buy at
The Floating Girl(2000)Description / Buy at
The Bride's Kimono(2001)Description / Buy at
The Samurai's Daughter(2003)Description / Buy at
The Pearl Diver(2004)Description / Buy at
The Typhoon Lover(2005)Description / Buy at
Girl in a Box(2006)Description / Buy at
Shimura Trouble(2008)Description / Buy at
The Kizuna Coast(2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Rei Shimura Short Stories Books

The Deepest Blue(2011)Description / Buy at
Junior High Samurai(2011)Description / Buy at
The Convenience Boy(2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Rei Shimura Collections

Convenience Boy and Other Stories of Japan(2011)Description / Buy at

If You Like Rei Shimura Books, You’ll Love…

Rei Shimura Synopsis: The Salaryman’s Wife by Sujata Massey is the first book in the Rei Shimura mystery series. Japanese-American Rei Shimura is a 27-year-old English teacher living in one of Tokyo’s worst neighborhoods. She doesn’t earn much money, but she wouldn’t go back home to California even if she had a free ticket (and she does). Her independence is threatened however, when a getaway to an ancient castle town is marred by murder. Rei is the first to find the beautiful wife of a high-powered businessman, dead in the snow. Taking charge, as usual, Rei searches for clues by crashing a funeral, posing as a bar-girl, and somehow ending up pursued by police and paparazzi alike. In the meantime, she manages to piece together a strange, ever-changing puzzle—one that is built on lies and held together by years of sex and deception.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Rei Shimura Books

Leave a Reply