Sano Ichiro by Laura Joh Rowland
Sano Ichiro is the protagonist in a series of historical mystery/detective fiction novels by American novelist Laura Joh Rowland. The series is set in 17th century Edo, Japan (now Tokyo). Sano Ichiro is a samurai who has difficulty following the bushido code. He must balance serving his master as well as his wife, Ueda Reiko. The novel stays true to historical details, while taking some creative license with some characters.

Laura Joh Rowland began her Sano Ichiro historical mysteries series in 1994 with the novel Shinju, which was also her debut novel. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Laura Joh Rowland’s Sano Ichiro books in order of when they were originally released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Laura Joh Rowland releases a new book at

Publication Order of Sano Ichiro Books

Shinju(1994)Description / Buy at
Bundori(1996)Description / Buy at
The Way of the Traitor(1997)Description / Buy at
The Concubine's Tattoo(1998)Description / Buy at
The Samurai's Wife(2000)Description / Buy at
Black Lotus(2001)Description / Buy at
The Pillow Book of Lady Wisteria(2002)Description / Buy at
The Dragon King's Palace(2003)Description / Buy at
The Perfumed Sleeve(2004)Description / Buy at
The Assassin's Touch(2005)Description / Buy at
Red Chrysanthemum(2006)Description / Buy at
The Snow Empress(2007)Description / Buy at
The Fire Kimono(2008)Description / Buy at
The Cloud Pavilion(2009)Description / Buy at
The Ronin's Mistress(2011)Description / Buy at
The Incense Game(2012)Description / Buy at
The Shogun's Daughter(2013)Description / Buy at
The Iris Fan(2014)Description / Buy at

If You Like Sano Ichiro Books, You’ll Love…

Sano Ichiro Synopsis: In Shinju by Laura Joh Rowland, a wealthy woman and a lower class artist are found drowned together in a double suicide (known as a shinju), it is believed that the reason was because their love was forbidden – by everyone except for Sani Ichiro, who has newly been appointed as yoriki (feudal lord). He is of the opinion that this is not infact a shinju, but a double murder. He must risk his family’s name and his own life in order to search for a murderer.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Sano Ichiro Books

Leave a Reply