Bess Crawford is a series of mystery novels by American authors Caroline and Charles Todd under the shared pseudonym of Charles Todd. Bess is a British nurse working in France during World War I.

Charles Todd wrote the first Bess Crawford book in 2009, titled A Duty to the Dead. Since then, there has been a new book in the series each year. Below is the order of Charles Todd’s Bess Crawford books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Charles Todd releases a new book at

Publication Order of Bess Crawford Books

A Duty to the Dead(2009)Description / Buy at
An Impartial Witness(2010)Description / Buy at
A Bitter Truth(2011)Description / Buy at
An Unmarked Grave(2012)Description / Buy at
A Question of Honor(2013)Description / Buy at
An Unwilling Accomplice(2014)Description / Buy at
The Maharani's Pearls(2014)Description / Buy at
A Pattern of Lies(2015)Description / Buy at
The Shattered Tree(2016)Description / Buy at
A Casualty of War(2017)Description / Buy at
A Forgotten Place(2018)Description / Buy at
A Cruel Deception(2019)Description / Buy at
A Hanging at Dawn(2020)Description / Buy at
An Irish Hostage(2021)Description / Buy at
The Cliff's Edge(2023)Description / Buy at

If You Like Bess Crawford Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Bess Crawford Books

Leave a Reply