Laura Joh Rowland
Laura Joh Rowland is an American author of historical fiction and historical mystery novels. She writes the Sano Ichiro series and the Secret Adventures of Charlotte Bronte series. Laura is the granddaughter of Chinese and Korean immigrants. She grew up in Michigan and earned her B.S. in microbiology and a Master of Public Health at the University of Michigan. In the past, she has worked as a chemist, microbiologist, sanitary inspector and quality engineer. She is a survivor of Hurricane Katrina, where her New Orleans home was destroyed. She now lives in New York City.

Laura Joh Rowland published her first novel in 1994, which was entitled Shinju and began her Sano Ichiro series. Below is a list of Laura Joh Rowland’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Laura Joh Rowland releases a new book at

Publication Order of Sano Ichiro Books

Shinju (1994)Description / Buy at
Bundori (1996)Description / Buy at
The Way of the Traitor (1997)Description / Buy at
The Concubine's Tattoo (1998)Description / Buy at
The Samurai's Wife (2000)Description / Buy at
Black Lotus (2001)Description / Buy at
The Pillow Book of Lady Wisteria (2002)Description / Buy at
The Dragon King's Palace (2003)Description / Buy at
The Perfumed Sleeve (2004)Description / Buy at
The Assassin's Touch (2005)Description / Buy at
Red Chrysanthemum (2006)Description / Buy at
The Snow Empress (2007)Description / Buy at
The Fire Kimono (2008)Description / Buy at
The Cloud Pavilion (2009)Description / Buy at
The Ronin's Mistress (2011)Description / Buy at
The Incense Game (2012)Description / Buy at
The Shogun's Daughter (2013)Description / Buy at
The Iris Fan (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Secret Adventures of Charlotte Brontë Books

The Secret Adventures of Charlotte Brontë (2008)Description / Buy at
Bedlam: The Further Secret Adventures of Charlotte Brontë (2010)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Victorian Mystery Books

The Ripper's Shadow (2017)Description / Buy at
A Mortal Likeness (2018)Description / Buy at
The Hangman's Secret (2019)Description / Buy at
The Woman in the Veil (2020)Description / Buy at
Portrait of Peril (2021)Description / Buy at
Garden of Sins (2022)Description / Buy at
River of Fallen Angels (2023)Description / Buy at

If You Like Laura Joh Rowland Books, You’ll Love…

Laura Joh Rowland Synopsis: In The Secret Adventures of Charlotte Bronte by Laura Joh Rowland, Charlotte Bronte must travel to London in order to clear her name of accusations of plagiarism. But on the way, she happens to witness a murder and it begins a chain of events that involves her having to re-visit old demons. With the help of her sisters, Emily and Anne, as well as the attractive brother of the victim, Charlotte must investigate a web of intrigue that puts her in danger and may ruin the fabric of the British Empire. Can Charlotte stop an invisible villain who intends to do harm to her, her family and the entire country?

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Laura Joh Rowland Books

Leave a Reply