Rex Graves is the protagonist in a series of mystery novels by C.S. Challinor. Born and raised in Edinburgh, Scotland, Rex earned his law degree from Edinburgh University. He specializes in criminal litigation and prosecutes at the High Court of Justiciary in Edinburgh. He is described as 6’4″, stocky, red hair and beard and smokes a pipe.

C.S. Challinor debuted her Rex Graves series in 2008 with the novel Christmas is Murder. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of C.S. Challinor’s Rex Graves books in order of when they were originally released (which is also their chronological order):

Get notified when C.S. Challinor releases a new book at

Publication Order of Rex Graves Mystery Books

Christmas is Murder(2008)Description / Buy at
Murder in the Raw(2009)Description / Buy at
Phi Beta Murder(2010)Description / Buy at
Murder on the Moor(2011)Description / Buy at
Murder of the Bride(2012)Description / Buy at
Murder at the Dolphin Inn(2012)Description / Buy at
Say Murder With Flowers(2013)Description / Buy at
Say Goodbye to Archie(2013)Description / Buy at
Murder at Midnight(2014)Description / Buy at
Murder Comes Calling(2015)Description / Buy at
Prelude To Murder(2015)Description / Buy at
Judgment of Murder(2016)Description / Buy at
Upstaged by Murder(2018)Description / Buy at

If You Like Rex Graves Books, You’ll Love…

Rex Graves Synopses: Christmas is Murder by C.S. Challinor is the first book in the Rex Graves mysteries series. Not even a blizzard can keep Rex Graves away from Swanmere Manor, a secluded Victorian hotel in the English countryside owned by the eccentric Dahlia Smithings. But instead of Christmas spirit, the Scottish barrister finds a dead guest. Was it a stroke that killed old Mr. Lawdry? Or an almond tart laced with poison? When more guests die, all hopes for a jolly holiday are dashed. Snowbound and terrified, no one can escape the cold-blooded killer. Rex takes it upon himself to unravel the mystery. A biography of President George W. Bush found charred in the fireplace might offer a few clues. Could the killer be the sherry-swilling handyman? The gay antiques dealer with the biting wit? The quarreling newlyweds? Surely it’s not Helen D’Arcy, the lovely lass Rex seems to be falling for…

Murder in the Raw by C.S. Challinor is book 2 in the series. When beautiful French actress Sabine Durand mysteriously disappears, Rex Graves flies to the Caribbean paradise of St. Martin to investigate. But no one told the Scottish barrister that the island’s white sand beaches would be filled with people walking around sans clothing. Apparently, Sabine was staying at an exclusive naturalist resort. Not even a few pints of Guinness can prepare Rex for all the brazenly exposed body parts he encounters. Always with his eyes well above the shoulders, Rex interviews Sabine’s friends. It seems everyone has something to hide – from her rich older husband to the sexy self-made millionaire to Monsieur Bijou, an influential developer on the island with a fetish for jewels. Alibis unravel and motives are revealed as Rex works to uncover the culprit of this crime au naturel.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Rex Graves Books

Leave a Reply