Rose McQuinn is the protagonist in a series of historical mystery novels by British novelist Alanna Knight. Rose McQuinn is the daughter of Alanna Knight’s Inspector Faro character. Having lost her family, Rose returns home to Edinburgh from the American West.

Alanna Knight began her Rose McQuinn series in 2000 with the novel The Inspector’s Daughter. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Alanna Knight’s Rose McQuinn books in order of when they were first published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Publication Order of Rose McQuinn Books

The Inspector's Daughter(2000)Description / Buy at
Dangerous Pursuits(2003)Description / Buy at
An Orkney Murder(2003)Description / Buy at
Ghost Walk(2004)Description / Buy at
Destroying Angel(2009)Description / Buy at
Quest for a Killer(2010)Description / Buy at
Deadly Legacy(2012)Description / Buy at
The Balmoral Incident(2014)Description / Buy at
Murder Lies Waiting(2018)Description / Buy at

If You Like Rose McQuinn Books, You’ll Love…

Rose McQuinn Synopsis: The Inspector’s Daughter by Alanna Knight is the first book in the Rose McQuinn series. Looking to recover from the loss of her husband and her baby son, Rose McQuinn has returned home to Edinburgh from the American Wild West. It seems that everything has changed in her absence, including her beloved stepbrother who has found favour at court and moved to London. But Rose has little time to process – she soon steps into the shoes of her father, the legendary Detective Inspector Faro; by agreeing to investigate the strange behaviour of Matthew Bolton, husband to Rose’s childhood friend Alice. Alice is convinced Matthew is having an affair but Rose suspects he may have been involved in something much more sinister – the brutal and still unsolved murder of a servant girl. If Rose continues her investigations surely she will break Alice’s heart. As her father’s daughter, she cannot fight off the urge to discover the truth. From her isolated home at the foot of Arthur’s Seat and aided by a wild deerhound who has befriended her, Rose starts to piece things together, until she gets too near the truth and puts her own life in danger.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Rose McQuinn Books

Leave a Reply