Nell Sweeney Gilded Age Mysteries by PB Ryan
Nell Sweeney is the protagonist in a series of historical mystery novels known as the Gilded Age Mysteries by American novelist P.B. Ryan (Patricia Ryan). Nell Sweeney is a governess originally from Ireland. The series is set in Boston, Massachusetts following the American Civil War.

P.B. Ryan began her Nell Sweeney historical mystery series in 2003 with the novel Still Life with Murder. The series consists of seven novels, concluding with 2007’s novel A Bucket of Ashes. Below is a list of P.B. Ryan’s Nell Sweeney books in order of when they were originally published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when P.B. Ryan releases a new book at

Publication Order of Nell Sweeney Mysteries Books

Still Life with Murder(2003)Description / Buy at
Murder in a Mill Town(2004)Description / Buy at
Death on Beacon Hill(2005)Description / Buy at
Murder on Black Friday(2005)Description / Buy at
Murder In the North End(2006)Description / Buy at
A Bucket of Ashes(2007)Description / Buy at

If You Like Nell Sweeney/Gilded Age Mysteries Books, You’ll Love…

Nell Sweeney/Gilded Age Mysteries Synopsis: Still Life with Murder by P.B. Ryan is set in 1868 Boston where the wealthy are living the good life during the Gilded Age. However, not everyone is doing so well. Nell Sweeney is an Irish immigrant who is the governess to the Hewitt family, who sends her to find out that their son didn’t perish in the Civil War as had been believed, is alive and is currently in prison.

In Murder in a Mill Town by P.B. Ryan, it’s 1868 in Boston and Nell Sweeney is attempting to find a missing woman and might just end up go missing herself.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Nell Sweeney Books

Leave a Reply