Gaslight Mysteries by Victoria Thompson
The Gaslight Mysteries is a series of historical mystery novels by American author Victoria Thompson. The series is set in turn-of-the-century New York City. The main character of the series is Sarah Brandt, a midwife, who gets assistance from Detective Sergeant Frank Malloy to solve mysteries that she happens across.

Victoria Thompson debuted her Gaslight Mysteries series in 1999 with the novel Murder on Astor Place. The series is currently ongoing, with a new novel being published at a pace of once per year. Below is a list of Victoria Thompson’s Gaslight Mysteries books in order of when they were first released (which is also their chronological order):

Get notified when Victoria Thompson releases a new book at

Publication Order of Gaslight Mystery Books

Murder on Astor Place(1999)Description / Buy at
Murder on St. Mark's Place(2000)Description / Buy at
Murder on Gramercy Park(2001)Description / Buy at
Murder on Washington Square(2002)Description / Buy at
Murder on Mulberry Bend(2003)Description / Buy at
Murder on Marble Row(2004)Description / Buy at
Murder on Lenox Hill(2005)Description / Buy at
Murder in Little Italy(2006)Description / Buy at
Murder in Chinatown(2007)Description / Buy at
Murder on Bank Street(2008)Description / Buy at
Murder on Waverly Place(2009)Description / Buy at
Murder on Lexington Avenue(2010)Description / Buy at
Murder on Sisters' Row(2011)Description / Buy at
Murder on Fifth Avenue(2012)Description / Buy at
Murder in Chelsea(2013)Description / Buy at
Murder in Murray Hill(2014)Description / Buy at
Murder on Amsterdam Avenue(2015)Description / Buy at
Murder on St. Nicholas Avenue(2015)Description / Buy at
Murder in Morningside Heights(2016)Description / Buy at
Murder in the Bowery(2017)Description / Buy at
Murder on Union Square(2018)Description / Buy at
Murder on Trinity Place(2019)Description / Buy at
Murder on Pleasant Avenue(2020)Description / Buy at
Murder on Wall Street(2021)Description / Buy at
Murder on Madison Square(2022)Description / Buy at
Murder on Bedford Street(2023)Description / Buy at
Murder in Rose Hill(2024)Description / Buy at

If You Like Gaslight Mysteries Books, You’ll Love…

Gaslight Mysteries Synopses: The first in Victoria Thompson’s Gaslight Mysteries series is entitled Murder on Astor Place. On a visit to a patient, midwife Sarah Brandt finds young girl’s body. At Sgt. Frank Malloy’s request, she searches the room and finds out that the victim is from a prominent New York family and is also an old friend’s sister. Out of fear of a potential scandal, the family refuses any investigation, but Sarah goes on her own investigation with the help of Sgt. Malloy in order to find the murderer before another person is killed.

The second book in the Gaslight Mysteries is Murder on St. Mark’s Place. Sarah Brandt and Detective Sergeant Frank Malloy are witness to birth, death and murder.

Third in Victoria Thompson’s Gaslight Mysteries, Sarah Brandt shows up at Edmund Blackwell’s house at Malloy’s request to find his wife in labour and Edmund dead from what appears to have been a suicide. However, the evidence points towards something other than suicide to Malloy – murder. The delivery is successful, but the baby gets sick. Sarah is able to use her training and intuition in order to find out what’s wrong with the newborn, but discovers a trail of greed, deception and desire.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Gaslight Mysteries Books

5 Responses to “Order of Gaslight Mysteries Books”

  1. Frederic Wilson: 6 months ago

    I love your series. The plots are all different enough so that they’re entertaining. I hope the series isn’t over. I am almost to 2023. I hope there’s one in 2024.

    I also love the counterfeit Lady series


  2. Diane Peterson: 1 year ago

    I came acrossed this series by accident. I now have the first 24 and trying to find the last 2. I love this series and I hope it continues on for another 24. I am reading them in order when I find the next 2 I will read them then I will continue to have the series. Keep up the good work. By the way I have only been reading them for about 1 month. I am an invalid so I can read a book in 2 days.


  3. Dana D: 2 years ago

    Please continue your Gaslight Series. I love the historical easter eggs that Victoria includes in her stories. Frank, Sarah and the gang must go on!


  4. Marjorie Whiddon: 2 years ago

    Love this series. Very well written and
    great plot in each book. Please continue your work. We l love Sarah.


  5. Sandy White: 3 years ago

    I love that you listed the Gaslight Mysteries in order. That is how I like to read them, and now I have a list. thank you.


Leave a Reply