Victoria Thompson (Photo Credit: Jim Thompson)
Victoria Thompson is an American author of historical mystery and historical romance novels. She is best known for her Gaslight Mysteries series, featuring midwife Sarah Brandt and detective Frank Malloy. Victoria began her career writing historical romances, which gave her an appreciation for the 19th century that carried over into her historical mysteries. Victoria is a public speaker who holds seminars on how to write popular fiction across the United States and Canada. She also teaches the Master’s degree program at Seton Hill University – the same place where she earned her MFA degree.

Victoria Thompson’s career began in 1985 with the historical romance novel Texas Treasure. Her historical mystery career would begin in 1999 with the novel Murder on Astor Place, beginning her Gaslight Mysteries series. Below is a list of Victoria Thompson’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Victoria Thompson releases a new book at

Publication Order of Counterfeit Lady Books

City of Lies (2017)Description / Buy at
City of Secrets (2018)Description / Buy at
City of Scoundrels (2019)Description / Buy at
City of Schemes (2020)Description / Buy at
City of Shadows (2021)Description / Buy at
City of Fortune (2022)Description / Buy at
City of Betrayal (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Gaslight Mystery Books

Murder on Astor Place (1999)Description / Buy at
Murder on St. Mark's Place (2000)Description / Buy at
Murder on Gramercy Park (2001)Description / Buy at
Murder on Washington Square (2002)Description / Buy at
Murder on Mulberry Bend (2003)Description / Buy at
Murder on Marble Row (2004)Description / Buy at
Murder on Lenox Hill (2005)Description / Buy at
Murder in Little Italy (2006)Description / Buy at
Murder in Chinatown (2007)Description / Buy at
Murder on Bank Street (2008)Description / Buy at
Murder on Waverly Place (2009)Description / Buy at
Murder on Lexington Avenue (2010)Description / Buy at
Murder on Sisters' Row (2011)Description / Buy at
Murder on Fifth Avenue (2012)Description / Buy at
Murder in Chelsea (2013)Description / Buy at
Murder in Murray Hill (2014)Description / Buy at
Murder on Amsterdam Avenue (2015)Description / Buy at
Murder on St. Nicholas Avenue (2015)Description / Buy at
Murder in Morningside Heights (2016)Description / Buy at
Murder in the Bowery (2017)Description / Buy at
Murder on Union Square (2018)Description / Buy at
Murder on Trinity Place (2019)Description / Buy at
Murder on Pleasant Avenue (2020)Description / Buy at
Murder on Wall Street (2021)Description / Buy at
Murder on Madison Square (2022)Description / Buy at
Murder on Bedford Street (2023)Description / Buy at
Murder in Rose Hill (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Lady and the Cowboy Romance Books

Texas Treasure (1985)Description / Buy at
Texas Triumph (1987)Description / Buy at
Texas Blonde (1987)Description / Buy at
Bold Texas Embrace (1989)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Lady and the Scoundrel Books

Publication Order of The Hired Gunslinger Books

Texas Angel / Angel Heart (1988)Description / Buy at
Wild Texas Promise (1990)Description / Buy at
Sweet Texas Surrender (1991)Description / Buy at
Blazing Texas Nights (1992)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Tates of Texas Books

Wild Texas Wind (1992)Description / Buy at
Winds of Promise (1993)Description / Buy at
Winds of Destiny (1994)Description / Buy at
Winds of Fortune (1995)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Beloved Outcast (1989)Description / Buy at
Playing with Fire (1990)Description / Buy at
Cry Wolf (1995)Description / Buy at
Wings of Morning (1996)Description / Buy at
From This Day Forward (1997)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Losing Alexandria (1998)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Malice Domestic 11(2016)Description / Buy at
Malice Domestic 14(2019)Description / Buy at

Note: Angel Heart was also published as Texas Angel.

If You Like Victoria Thompson Books, You’ll Love…

Victoria Thompson Synopses: In Victoria Thompson’s standalone novel, From This Day Forward, Eric Ross gets Lori McClintock pregnant, alone and devastated. Down on her luck, she builds a relationship with Adam, Eric’s older brother. But can they overcome a family secret that threatens to ruin everyone’s lives?

Wings of Morning is a standalone novel by Victoria Thompson. Emma Winthrope is a broke, recently widowed Philadelphia woman. She is now at the mercy of her brother-in-law, Grayson Sinclair. Grayson is handsome, enigmatic and arrogant and is also rumoured to be responsible for his own wife’s death.

In Blazing Texas Nights, Leah Harding is a strong-willed woman who is trying to protect her family’s ranch from landgrabbers. But she is caught off-guard when a handsome gunslinger named Calhoun Stevens has shown up with an unproven claim on the land.

In Wild Texas Wind (first in the Tates series chronologically; second in publication order), Rebekah Tate has been largely raised by the Comache, but dreams of seeing her childhood home once again. Can her dreams come true when a trader named Sean MacDougal risks his wife in order to take her home?

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Victoria Thompson Books

Leave a Reply