Sergeant Cribb by Peter Lovesey
Sergeant Cribb is the protagonist in a series of crime fiction/historical mystery novels by British author Peter Lovesey. The novels are set in Victorian London. The series (known as “Cribb” in the UK and “Sergeant Cribb” in North America) was adapted into two series of a total of 14 television episodes that aired on ITV and starred Alan Dobie as Cribb.

Peter Lovesey debuted his Sergeant Cribb character in 1970 with the novel Wobble to Death. The series lasted 8 novels, concluding in 1978 with the novel Waxwork. Below is a list of Peter Lovesey’s Sergeant Cribb books in order of when they were first published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Peter Lovesey releases a new book at

Publication Order of Sergeant Cribb Books

Wobble to Death(1970)Description / Buy at
The Detective Wore Silk Drawers(1970)Description / Buy at
Abracadaver(1972)Description / Buy at
Mad Hatter's Holiday(1973)Description / Buy at
The Tick of Death / Invitation to a Dynamite Party(1974)Description / Buy at
A Case of Spirits(1975)Description / Buy at
Swing, Swing Together(1976)Description / Buy at
Waxwork(1978)Description / Buy at

Note: The Tick of Death was also published as Invitation to a Dynamite Party.

If You Like Sergeant Cribb Books, You’ll Love…

Sergeant Cribb Synopsis: Wobble to Death is the first novel in the Sergeant Cribb series by Peter Lovesey. The big thing in 1879 was the “wobble” – a race walking competition. After one of the competitors dies and another is murdered, Sergeant Cribb is called on to investigate. The novel was adapted into an episode of the ITV program.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Sergeant Cribb Books

Leave a Reply