Sir Henry Merrivale by Carter Dickson
Sir Henry Merrivale is the protagonist in a series of mystery novels by American novelist Carter Dickson (John Dickson Carr). Merrivale began the series as a serious character, but as the series goes on, became more and more comical. He began the series as a near-70s older man, but his age becomes more ambiguous as the series continues. Merrivale is a baronet and a barrister and has a medical degree. Among his talents are magic, disguise and being a crime historian. Merrivale claims to be married with children, but none of his family make appearances in the series.

Carter Dickson began his Sir Henry Merrivale series in 1934 with the novel The Plague Court Murders. The series lasted 23 novels until the 1991 novel Merrivale, March and Murder. Below is a list of Carter Dickson’s Sir Henry Merrivale books in order of when they were originally released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Publication Order of Sir Henry Merrivale Books

(By: Carter Dickson, John Dickson Carr)

The Plague Court Murders(1934)Description / Buy at
The White Priory Murders(1934)Description / Buy at
The Red Widow Murders(1935)Description / Buy at
The Unicorn Murders(1935)Description / Buy at
The Punch and Judy Murders /The Magic Lantern Murders(1936)Description / Buy at
The Peacock Feather Murders / The Ten Teacups(1937)Description / Buy at
The Judas Window / The Crossbow Murder(1938)Description / Buy at
Death in Five Boxes(1938)Description / Buy at
The Reader Is Warned(1939)Description / Buy at
And So to Murder(1940)Description / Buy at
Nine and Death Makes Ten / Murder in the Submarine Zone(1940)Description / Buy at
Seeing Is Believing / Cross of Murder(1941)Description / Buy at
The Gilded Man / Death and the Gilded Man(1942)Description / Buy at
She Died A Lady(1943)Description / Buy at
He Wouldn't Kill Patience(1944)Description / Buy at
The Curse of the Bronze Lamp / Lord of the Sorcerers(1945)Description / Buy at
My Late Wives(1946)Description / Buy at
The Skeleton in the Clock(1948)Description / Buy at
A Graveyard to Let(1949)Description / Buy at
Night at the Mocking Widow(1950)Description / Buy at
Behind the Crimson Blind(1952)Description / Buy at
The Cavalier's Cup(1953)Description / Buy at
Merrivale, March and Murder(1991)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Magic Lantern Murders is also known as The Punch and Judy Murders. The Peacock Feather Murders was also released as The Ten Teacups. The Judas Window was also published under the title of The Crossbow Murder. Nine and Death Makes Ten was also published as Murder in the Submarine Zone. Seeing is Believing is also known as Cross of Murder. The Gilded Man was alternately titled Death and the Gilded Man. The Curse of the Bronze Lamp was alternately titled Lord of the Sorcerers.

If You Like Sir Henry Merrivale Books, You’ll Love…

Sir Henry Merrivale Synopsis: The Plague Court Murders is the first book in the series by Carter Dickson. When Dean Halliday becomes convinced that the malevolent ghost of Louis Playge is haunting his family estate in London, he invites Ken Bates and Detective Inspector Masters along to Plague Court to investigate. Arriving at night, they find his aunt and fiancee preparing to exorcise the spirit in a seance run by psychic Roger Darworth. While Darworth locks himself in a stone house behind Plague Court, the séance proceeds, and at the end he is found gruesomely murdered. But who, or what, could have killed him? All the windows and doors were bolted and locked, and no one could have gotten inside.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Sir Henry Merrivale Books

Leave a Reply