Dr Gideon Fell by John Dickson Carr
Dr. Gideon Fell is the protagonist in a series of mystery novels by American author John Dickson Carr. Dr. Fell is a large man with a moustache, and is usually seen wearing a cape, a shovel hat and using two canes. Early on, he is described as a lexicographer, and later as working on a history of English people’s drinking habits. As an amateur sleuth, he is often called upon by the police, but he frustrates them by not letting them in on his deductions until he has the mystery solved. Dr. Fell lives in the London suburbs.

John Dickson Carr began his Dr. Gideon Fell series in 1932 with the novel Hag’s Nook. The series ran for 23 books until 1991’s Fell and Foul Play. Below is a list of John Dickson Carr’s Dr. Gideon Fell books in order of when they were first released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Publication Order of Dr. Gideon Fell Books

Hag's Nook(1932)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Mad Hatter Mystery(1933)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Eight of Swords(1934)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Blind Barber(1934)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Death-Watch(1935)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Three Coffins / The Hollow Man(1935)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Arabian Nights Murder(1936)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Crooked Hinge(1937)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
To Wake the Dead(1938)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Problem of the Green Capsule / The Black Spectacles(1939)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Problem of the Wire Cage(1939)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Man Who Could Not Shudder(1940)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Seat of the Scornful(1941)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Case of the Constant Suicides(1941)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Death Turns the Tables / The Seat of the Scornful(1941)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Till Death Do Us Part(1944)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
He Who Whispers(1946)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Sleeping Sphinx(1947)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Below Suspicion(1949)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Dead Man's Knock(1958)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
In Spite of Thunder(1960)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The House at Satan's Elbow(1965)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Panic in Box C(1966)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Dark of the Moon(1967)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Notes: The Three Coffins was also published as The Hollow Man. The Black Spectacles was alternately titled The Problem of the Green Capsule.

If You Like Dr. Gideon Fell Books, You’ll Love…

Dr. Gideon Fell Synopsis: Death-Watch is the 5th book in the Dr. Gideon Fell series by John Dickson Carr. A clockmaker is puzzled by the theft of the hands of a monumental new timepiece he is preparing for a member of the nobility. That night, one of the stolen hands is found buried between a policeman’s shoulder blades, stopping his “clock” for all time. The crime catches the attention of Dr. Gideon Fell, the portly detective whose formidable intellect is feared by the criminals of London. Working with Scotland Yard, he finds that the case turns on the question of why the clock hands were stolen. And finding the answer will put Dr. Fell squarely in the path of a madman with nothing but time on his hands.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Dr. Gideon Fell Books

Leave a Reply