The Sonchai Jitpleecheep series is a series of detective novels by British novelist John Burdett. The title character of the series is a Thai Buddhist detective. Sonchai is the son of a military man and a prostitute. The series is largely told in Sonchai’s meditative internal dialogues. There is a lot of comparison between Thai and Western cultures, including Thailand’s sex industry.

Sonchai Jitpleecheep made his first appearance in Bangkok 8 in 2003. Burdett has followed up with four more novels in the series. Below is a list of John Burdett’s Sonchai Jitpleecheep Bangkok series in chronological order and in publication order:

Get notified when John Burdett releases a new book at

Publication Order of Sonchai Jitpleecheep Books

Bangkok 8(2003)Description / Buy at
Bangkok Tattoo(2005)Description / Buy at
Bangkok Haunts(2007)Description / Buy at
The Godfather of Kathmandu(2009)Description / Buy at
Vulture Peak(2011)Description / Buy at
The Bangkok Asset(2015)Description / Buy at

If You Like Sonchai Jitpleecheep Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Sonchai Jitpleecheep Books

Leave a Reply