The Southern Victory series, also known as Timeline-191, is a series of alternate history novels by American author Harry Turtledove. The series is a look at what could have happened if the Union did not find a copy of Robert E. Lee’s Special Order 191 and the Confederate States go on to win the American Civil War. The series consists of a standalone novel, the Great War trilogy, the American Empire trilogy and the Settling Accounts tetralogy.

The Southern Victory began in 1997 with How Few Remain. The Great War trilogy ran from 1998 to 2000, the American Empire went from 2001-03 and the Settling Accounts series went from 2004 until 2007. Below is a list of Harry Turtledove’s Southern Victory books in order of when they were originally published (and in chronological order):

Get notified when Harry Turtledove releases a new book at

Publication Order of Southern Victory Books

Publication Order of Great War Books

Publication Order of American Empire Books

Blood & Iron(2001)Description / Buy at
The Center Cannot Hold(2002)Description / Buy at
The Victorious Opposition(2003)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Settling Accounts Books

Return Engagement(2004)Description / Buy at
Drive to the East(2005)Description / Buy at
The Grapple(2006)Description / Buy at
In at the Death(2007)Description / Buy at

If You Like Southern Victory Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Southern Victory Books

Leave a Reply