The Stephen Attebrook Mystery series is a series of books by author Jason Vail. The series began in 2010 with the release of The Wayward Apprentice and then continued with Baynard’s List and A Dreadful Penance.

The books are in the historical fiction genre. Writer Jason Vail is interested in historical fiction and martial arts, and he blends the two into his novels. Vail has studied extensively in the world of martial arts with training in karate, jujutsu, judo, boxing, wrestling and mixed martial arts. Vail has also studied historical European martial artists as well as longsword and broadsword fencing.

Get notified when Jason Vail releases a new book at

Publication Order of Stephen Attebrook Mystery Books

The Wayward Apprentice(2010)Description / Buy at
Baynard's List(2011)Description / Buy at
A Dreadful Penance(2012)Description / Buy at
The Girl in the Ice(2013)Description / Buy at
Saint Milburga's Bones(2015)Description / Buy at
Bad Money(2016)Description / Buy at
The Bear Wagon(2017)Description / Buy at
Murder at Broadstowe Manor(2018)Description / Buy at
The Corpse at Windsor Bridge(2020)Description / Buy at
The Burned Man(2020)Description / Buy at
Missing(2021)Description / Buy at
A Curious Death(2022)Description / Buy at
Bag of Bones(2022)Description / Buy at
The Richest Man in Town(2023)Description / Buy at
There was a Crooked Man(2024)Description / Buy at

If You Like Stephen Attebrook Mystery Books, You’ll Love…

The Wayward Apprentice is the first book in the Stephen Attebrook Mystery series. The book introduces us to Attebrook as a crippled knight who is facing poverty. He seems as if he is going to live a quiet life until he ends up becoming the deputy coroner in the medieval town of Ludlow. The job ends up plunging him into a world of murder, espionage, and intrigue after he rules a case an accidental drowning that turns out to be murder. Now, he must find the killer despite little evidence to help him. His search will find him caught between spies readying for war between a rebellious earl and King Henry III.

The series continues with Baynard’s List. The list refers to a secret list that identifies the supporters of both King Henry and his rival for power Simon de Montfort. That list has since gone missing after the murder of one of the King’s spies. Now it’s up to Attebrook to find the list for his former master, crown justice Ademar de Valence. The search will bring him into a world of murder, espionage, and betrayal where he’ll be in a race to get to the list before it kills someone.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Stephen Attebrook Mystery Books

Leave a Reply