Strain by Guillermo Del Toro Chuck Hogan
The Strain Trilogy is a series of horror novels by Guillermo del Toro and Chuck Hogan. “The Strain” refers to a vampiric virus that has infected the passengers of a jet that arrived at JFK Airport in New York City. The virus quickly moves onto the streets of New York City. The series has been adapted into a comic book series by Dark Horse Comics and into a TV series on FX. Guillermo del Toro had originally brainstormed the story as a television series before turning into a book series with novelist Chuck Hogan.

The Strain Trilogy began in 2009 with the title novel. The series continued with The Fall in 2010 and then concluded with The Night Eternal in 2011. Below is a list of Guillermo del Toro and Chuck Hogan’s Strain Trilogy books in order of when they were first released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Guillermo del Toro releases a new book at

Publication Order of The Strain Trilogy Books

(By: Guillermo del Toro, Chuck Hogan)

If You Like Strain Trilogy Books, You’ll Love…

The Strain Trilogy Synopsis: The Strain is the first novel in The Strain Trilogy by Guillermo del Toro and Chuck Hogan.
When an airplane lands in New York’s JFK Airport, it comes to a sudden stop. The window shades are down, the lights are out and no communication is made. An alert is sent to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Dr. Ephraim “Eph” Goodweather, head of the CDC’s Canary Project, a rapid-response team that handles biological threats, is sent to investigate. Goodweather and Dr. Nora Martinez board the plane, finding everyone onboard except for four people dead. Not too far away, in a pawnshop in Spanish Harlem, former history professor and Holocaust survivor Abraham Setrakian knows something terrible has happened and that an unnatural war is brewing. So begins a battle of mammoth proportions as the vampiric virus that has infected the passengers begins spilling out onto the streets of New York City. Dr. Goodweather, who is joined by Setrakian and a small band of fighters, desperately tries to stop the contagion to save the city, and also his wife and son.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Strain Books

Leave a Reply