Thomas Black by Earl W Emerson
Thomas Black is the protagonist in a series of mystery novels by American author Earl Emerson. Thomas Black was a 10-year vet with the Seattle Police Department until he ended up killing a teenaged car thief, causing him to quit the department. Now, he ends up renting a basement, while living off his police pension and the odd P.I. job that comes his way. Black occasionally teams up his best friend, Kathy Birchfield, who starts out as a law student who rents a room from him.

Earl Emerson began his Thomas Black series in 1985 with the novel The Rainy City. After the 1998 novel Catfish Cafe, the series took an 11-year hiatus until 2009’s Cape Disappointment. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Earl Emerson’s Thomas Black books in order of when they were first published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Earl Emerson releases a new book at

Publication Order of Thomas Black Books

The Rainy City(1985)Description / Buy at
Poverty Bay(1985)Description / Buy at
Nervous Laughter(1986)Description / Buy at
Fat Tuesday(1987)Description / Buy at
Deviant Behavior(1988)Description / Buy at
Yellow Dog Party(1991)Description / Buy at
The Portland Laugher(1994)Description / Buy at
The Vanishing Smile(1995)Description / Buy at
The Million-Dollar Tattoo(1996)Description / Buy at
Deception Pass(1997)Description / Buy at
Catfish Cafe(1998)Description / Buy at
Cape Disappointment(2009)Description / Buy at
Monica's Sister(2013)Description / Buy at
Two Miles of Darkness(2015)Description / Buy at
Jackson Street(2017)Description / Buy at

If You Like Thomas Black Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Thomas Black Books

Leave a Reply