Thomas Littlejohn is the protagonist in a series of crime fiction novels by English novelist George Bellairs. The novels consist of strong plots, strong characters, scandal, intrigue, and humour. Inspector Littlejohn himself is both intelligent and compassionate. The series has a contemporary setting to when the books were written, and are usually set in small communities.

George Bellairs began his Thomas Littlejohn series in 1941 with the novel Littlejohn on Leave. The series concluded in 1980 with the novel An Old Man Dies. Below is a list of George Bellairs’ Thomas Littlejohn books in order of when they were first released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Publication Order of Thomas Littlejohn Books

Littlejohn on Leave(1941)Description / Buy at
The Four Unfaithful Servants(1942)Description / Buy at
Death of a Busybody(1942)Description / Buy at
The Dead Shall be Raised & Murder of a Quack(1942)Description / Buy at
The Case of the Seven Whistlers(1944)Description / Buy at
He'd Rather Be Dead(1945)Description / Buy at
Calamity at Harwood(1945)Description / Buy at
Death in the Night Watches(1946)Description / Buy at
The Case of the Scared Rabbits(1946)Description / Buy at
The Crime at Halfpenny Bridge(1946)Description / Buy at
Death on the Last Train(1948)Description / Buy at
Outrage on Gallows Hill(1949)Description / Buy at
The Case of the DeMented Spiv(1949)Description / Buy at
The Case of the Famished Parson(1949)Description / Buy at
Half-Mast for the Deemster(1950)Description / Buy at
The Case of the Headless Jesuit(1950)Description / Buy at
Dead March for Penelope Blow(1951)Description / Buy at
Death in Dark Glasses(1952)Description / Buy at
Crime in Lepers' Hollow(1952)Description / Buy at
A Knife for Harry Dodd(1953)Description / Buy at
Corpses in Enderby(1954)Description / Buy at
The Cursing Stones Murder(1954)Description / Buy at
Death in Room Five(1955)Description / Buy at
Death Treads Softly(1956)Description / Buy at
Death Drops the Pilot(1956)Description / Buy at
Death in High Provence(1957)Description / Buy at
Death Sends for the Doctor(1957)Description / Buy at
Corpse at the Carnival(1958)Description / Buy at
Murder Makes Mistakes(1958)Description / Buy at
Bones in the Wilderness(1959)Description / Buy at
Toll the Bell for Murder(1959)Description / Buy at
Death in the Fearful Night(1960)Description / Buy at
Death in Despair(1960)Description / Buy at
Death of a Tin God(1961)Description / Buy at
The Body in the Dumb River(1961)Description / Buy at
Murder Masquerade(1961)Description / Buy at
The Tormentors(1962)Description / Buy at
Death Before Breakfast(1962)Description / Buy at
Death in the Wasteland(1963)Description / Buy at
Death of a Shadow(1964)Description / Buy at
Surfeit of Suspects(1964)Description / Buy at
Death Spins the Wheel(1965)Description / Buy at
Strangers Among the Dead(1966)Description / Buy at
Intruder in the Dark(1966)Description / Buy at
Death in Desolation(1967)Description / Buy at
Single ticket to Death(1967)Description / Buy at
Fatal Alibi(1968)Description / Buy at
Murder Gone Mad(1968)Description / Buy at
Tycoon's Death-Bed(1970)Description / Buy at
Pomeroy Deceased(1971)Description / Buy at
The Night They Killed Joss Varran(1971)Description / Buy at
Murder Adrift(1972)Description / Buy at
Devious Murder(1973)Description / Buy at
Fear Round About(1975)Description / Buy at
All Roads to Sospel(1977)Description / Buy at
The Downhill Ride Of Leeman Popple(1979)Description / Buy at
An Old Man Dies(1980)Description / Buy at

Notes: Murder Will Speak was also published under the alternate title of The Dead Shall Be Raised. The Case of the Headless Jesuit was also released as Death Brings in the New Year. Dead March for Penelope Blow is also known as Dead March for Penelope. The Body in the Dumb River was also published under the title of Murder Masquerade. Close All Roads to Sospel was shortened to All Roads to Sospel.

If You Like Thomas Littlejohn Books, You’ll Love…

Thomas Littlejohn Synopsis: Death of a Busybody is the third book in the Thomas Littlejohn series by George Bellairs. Miss Tither, the village busybody, is not the most-loved resident of Hilary Magna. She has her enemies, which she made by bombarding the villagers with religious tracts, berating drunkards, and informing the spouses of cheating partners. Her murder, however, is still a huge shock to the Reverend Ethelred Claplady and his parish. Inspector Littlejohn’s understanding of country ways makes him Scotland Yard’s first choice for the job. Basing himself at the village inn, Littlejohn works with the local police to investigate what lay behind the murder. A second death does little to settle the collective nerves of the village, and as events escalate, a strange tale of hidden identities, repressed resentment, religious fervour and financial scams is uncovered. Life in the picturesque village of Hilary Magna proves to be very far from idyllic.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Thomas Littlejohn Books

One Response to “Order of Thomas Littlejohn Books”

  1. Patti Moore: 6 years ago

    Really Graeme? My spreadsheet of “want to read” books is already 25 pages long. And now ANOTHER series – this one from yesteryear – which beckons to me! The Thomas Littlejohn series looks sooo appealing, and there’s LOTS of them 😊 Oh my poor wallet!!


Leave a Reply