Thursday Next by Jasper Fforde
Thursday Next is the protagonist in a series of comic fantasy/alternate history novels by British author Jasper Fforde. Thursday Next works as a literary detective. Described as “feisty and loveable,” she is in her mid-30s and is the daughter of Colonel and Wednesday Next. The series is set in an alternate universe where England is a republic that has elected George Formby as its first president. Extinct species exist due to genetic engineering, such as mammoths and dodos (which Thursday herself has as a pet).

Jasper Fforde made his debut as a novelist with the first novel in this series, entitled The Eyre Affair and published in 2001. The series is broken down into two series – the first four books (up until Something Rotten) comprise the first series; the rest make up the second series. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Jasper Fforde’s Thursday Next books in order of when they were first released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Jasper Fforde releases a new book at

Publication Order of Thursday Next Books

The Eyre Affair(2001)Description / Buy at
Lost in a Good Book(2002)Description / Buy at
The Well of Lost Plots(2003)Description / Buy at
Something Rotten(2004)Description / Buy at
First Among Sequels(2007)Description / Buy at
One of Our Thursdays Is Missing(2011)Description / Buy at
The Woman Who Died A Lot(2012)Description / Buy at
Dark Reading Matter(2025)Description / Buy at

If You Like Thursday Next Books, You’ll Love…

Thursday Next Synopsis: In The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde (book 1 of the Thursday Next series), the year is 1985. The Crimean War is ongoing, dodos have been cloned and are no longer extinct and no one liked the ending of Jane Eyre. Jet-liners do not exist, nor do computers, but police officers can time travel.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Thursday Next Books

Leave a Reply