Order of Reed Farrel Coleman Books

Reed Farrel Coleman is an American author of hardboiled detective fiction. He is best known for his Moe Prager series. Reed has won the Shamus Award for Best Detective Novel of the Year three times and has been nominated for two Edgar Awards. He has also won the Macavity, Barry and Anthony awards. In the […]


Order of Joe Copp Books

Joe Copp, Private Eye is a series of hardboiled detective fiction novels by American novelist Don Pendleton. Copp is a 6’3″, 260 lb. private investigator. A common theme in the series is the novel opening with Copp on tailing a criminal, then Copp (in the first person) tells the story of how he got into […]


Order of Don Pendleton Books

Don Pendleton (1927-1995) was an American author of action-adventure, thriller and detective fiction novels as well as non-fiction books. Most of the novels published under the name are using “Don Pendleton” as a house name, featuring characters created by Pendleton – most notably, Mack Bolan: The Executioner and Stony Man. On his own, he wrote […]


Order of Dashiell Hammett Books

Dashiell Hammett (1894-1961) was an American author of hardboiled crime fiction. He is best known for creating the characters Sam Spade, Nick & Nora Charles and the Continental Op. Before becoming an author, Hammett was a Pinkerton agent, which he drew upon as an author. He said, “all my characters were based on people I’ve […]


Order of Stuart M. Kaminsky Books

Stuart M. Kaminsky (1934-2009) was an American author of mystery novels, crime fiction and non-fiction books, as well as a film professor. His series characters are Toby Peters, Inspector Rostnikov, Abe Lieberman and Lew Fonesca. He was awarded the title of Grand Master by the Mystery Writers of America. Kaminsky grew up in Chicago, where […]


Order of Kent Anderson Books

Kent Anderson is an author of hardboiled detective thrillers and military fiction. Before becoming an author, Anderson was a Special Forces agent who spent time in Vietnam and was also a police officer. His work has drawn both praise and criticism for its brutally honest depiction of war. He is not to be confused with […]


Order of Easy Rawlins Books

Easy Rawlins is the protagonist in a series of historical mystery novels by American author Walter Mosley. Easy is a WWII vet-turned-hardboiled detective based out of Los Angeles. The books are set in the 1940s up to the 1960s. The series takes a hard look at racial inequities experienced by African-Americans. The character was portrayed […]


Order of Philip Marlowe Books

Philip Marlowe is a fictional detective created by American author Raymond Chandler, and was later written by Robert B. Parker and Benjamin Black. The Philip Marlowe series is a hardboiled detective fiction series that actually started out as a series of short stories. Chandler would later cannibalize these stories into the first (and most famous) […]


Order of Raymond Chandler Books

Raymond Chandler (1888-1959) was an American novelist as well as a screenwriter. He is best known for his hardboiled detective novels and stories (largely featuring Philip Marlowe) and influenced many people in different mediums, including authors Robert B. Parker, Robert Crais, Michael Connelly and filmmakers Quentin Tarantino and the Coen Brothers.