Department Q is a series of crime thriller novels by Danish novelist Jussi Adler-Olsen. The series follows Carl Morck, one of the best homicide detectives in Copenhagen who has been promoted to the cold case department.

The Department Q series originally began in Danish with Kvinden i buret in 2007. In 2011, it would be translated into English and published in the UK as Mercy and in the USA as The Keeper of Lost Causes. Below is a list of Jussi Adler-Olsen’s Department Q books in order of when they were originally published in their English language editions:

Publication Order of Department Q Books

The Keeper of Lost Causes(2011) Best Hardcover PriceBest Paperback PriceBest Kindle Price
The Absent One(2012) Best Hardcover PriceBest Paperback PriceBest Kindle Price
A Conspiracy of Faith(2013) Best Hardcover PriceBest Paperback PriceBest Kindle Price
The Purity of Vengeance(2013) Best Hardcover PriceBest Paperback PriceBest Kindle Price

Notes: The Keeper of Lost Causes was published as Mercy in the United Kingdom. The Absent One was published under the title of Disgrace in the UK. A Conspiracy of Faith is titled Redemption in the UK. The Purity of Vengeance is titled Guilt in the UK.

If You Like Department Q Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

  • cassandra

    this list is misleading. there are three books so far, and all have different titles for the US. the US series is: The Keeper of Lost Causes, The Absent One, A Conspiracy of Faith (and soon The Purity of Vengeance). In Europe those same books are called: Mercy, Disgrace and Redemption.

    • Brandon

      Thanks! I didn’t see this post till now, but you’re right. I had a bad source.

  • Peter Ryan

    Is The Purity of Vengeance a different book from Redemption? On JAO’s website, these have different names again! Arghhhh. Great books though!

    • Brandon

      I’m a little confused myself. I will do my best to get this straightened out ASAP.

      However, I can tell you that The Purity of Vengeance won’t be out until December 31st.

  • J

    Ok thank you all. I’m reading the first “The Keeper of the Lost Causes” here in the United States and my grandma wanted a christmas list so I was hoping find the next title

  • birdyabroad

    The notes section with the UK titles is still quite confusing – and the UK title for the 4th book should be “Guilt” and not “Contempt” (at least with Penguin…)

    • Brandon

      I’ll fix it so that UK visitors only see the UK titles. Thanks for your feedback – we’re always looking to improve the site.

      • Brandon

        Oops, it was already like that… Well, I guess I’ll just re-word it then. :)

  • Biterflame

    On Goodreads, it says that there are more than four books in this series (?!) I was wondering if anyone had any information on this.

    • Brandon

      It’s including The Marco Effect (“Marco Effekten” in Danish), which comes out in English later this year – September 9th, to be exact.