Abir Mukherjee is the author of the bestselling Wyndham & Banerjee series of books. Abir won the CWA Endeavour Dagger for best historical crime novel of 2017 for his debut novel, A Rising Man. He then followed that up with his second novel, A Necessary Evil, that won the Wilbur Smith Award for Adventure Writing.

His series of novels are quite unique as they are all crime novels set during the Raj era in India. Abir grew up in Scotland, but now lives in London with his family.

Get notified when Abir Mukherjee releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Wyndham & Banerjee Mysteries Books

A Rising Man (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Necessary Evil (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Smoke and Ashes (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Death in the East (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Shadows of Men (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

If You Like Abir Mukherjee Books, You’ll Love…

A Rising Man introduces us to Captain Sam Wyndham, a former Scotland Yard detective who has recently arrived in 1919 Calcutta. He’s looking for a fresh start after the war and has been recruited to head up a new position in the police force in Calcutta. It doesn’t take him long to get to work as soon after his arrival he is given a murder investigation that is sending shivers through the city. The body of a senior official has been found in the sewer with a warning to the British to leave India. The city is on the brink of political insurgency and this case needs to be solved before things erupt in violence.

Another good book in the series is Smoke and Ashes. This book takes place in 1921 India and sees Captain Wyndham investigating another grisly murder in Calcutta. The body in this case really gives him flashbacks as he has seen a body like this before, at an opium den in one of his drug addled hazes. Wyndham must keep that fact a secret if he wishes to keep his job, but he’ll need that information if he hopes to solve this case before another body turns up.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Abir Mukherjee Books

Leave a Reply