Adam Sternbergh
Adam Sternbergh is a Canadian-American author of thriller novels. He is a contributing editor at New York magazine and Vulture, and formerly was the culture editor of The New York Times Magazine. His first series, Spademan, is a future-noir thriller series that follows a garbageman who becomes a hitman in a dystopian New York City. Raised in Toronto, Adam now resides in Brooklyn, New York with his family.

Adam Sternbergh made his debut as a novelist in 2014 with the novel Shovel Ready. The book was a Newsweek Favorite Book of 2014, a Booklist Best Crime Novel and Best Crime Debut of 2014, and was longlisted for the John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger by the Crime Writer’s Association. Below is a list of Adam Sternbergh’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Adam Sternbergh releases a new book at

Publication Order of Spademan Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Anthologies

Never Can Say Goodbye: Writers on Their Unshakable Love for New York(2014)Description / Buy at

If You Like Adam Sternbergh Books, You’ll Love…

Adam Sternbergh Synopsis: Shovel Ready by Adam Sternbergh is the first book in the Spademan series. Spademan was a garbage man. That was until the dirty bomb hit Times Square, before his wife was killed, and before the city became a blown-out shell of its former self. Now he’s a hitman. In a near-future New York City split between those who are wealthy enough to “tap in” to a sophisticated virtual reality, and those who are left to fend for themselves in the ravaged streets, Spademan chose the streets. When his latest client hires him to kill the daughter of a powerful evangelist, he must navigate between these two worlds – the wasteland reality and the slick fantasy – to finish his job, clear his conscience, and make sure he’s not the one who winds up in the ground.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Adam Sternbergh Books

Leave a Reply