Alan Baxter is a British-Australian author of supernatural thriller, urban horror, fantasy, and crime novels. Aside from writing, he enjoys riding a motorcycle and teaches Kung Fu. Alan lives on the south coast of New South Wales, Australia with his wife, son, dog, and lizard.

Alan Baxter made his debut as a novelist in 2006 with the novel Realmshift. Below is a list of Alan Baxter’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Alan Baxter releases a new book at

Publication Order of Alex Caine Books

Publication Order of The Balance Books

Publication Order of Eli Carver Books

Publication Order of Jake Crowley Books

Blood Codex (With: David Wood) (2017)Description / Buy at
Anubis Key (With: David Wood) (2017)Description / Buy at
Revenant (With: David Wood) (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Sam Aston Investigations Books

(with David Wood)

Primordial (With: David Wood) (2017)Description / Buy at
Overlord (With: David Wood) (2018)Description / Buy at
Crocalypse (With: David Wood) (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Tales From The Gulp Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Dark Rite (With: David Wood) (2013)Description / Buy at
The Book Club (2017)Description / Buy at
Hidden City (2018)Description / Buy at
Devouring Dark (2018)Description / Buy at
The Roo (2020)Description / Buy at
Golden Fortune, Dragon Jade (2020)Description / Buy at
Sallow Bend (2022)Description / Buy at
Blood Covenant (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Ghost of the Black (2009)Description / Buy at
Shall We Have Magic? (2009)Description / Buy at
The Darkest Shade of Grey (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Write The Fight Right (2011)Description / Buy at
Bipolar Bared (2015)Description / Buy at
What Wives Don't Know (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Essays

The Martial Art of Writing & Other Essays (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Jake Crowley Adventures Books

(with David Wood)

Blood Codex (With: David Wood) (2017)Description / Buy at
Anubis Key (With: David Wood) (2017)Description / Buy at
Revenant (With: David Wood) (2019)Description / Buy at
Sanctum (With: David Wood) (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

52 Stitches(2009)Description / Buy at
Seizure Offline 04(2009)Description / Buy at
Flesh and Bone: Rise of the Necromancers(2010)Description / Buy at
Anywhere but Earth(2011)Description / Buy at
Hope(2011)Description / Buy at
Damnation and Dames(2012)Description / Buy at
From Stage Door Shadows(2012)Description / Buy at
Bloodstones(2012)Description / Buy at
Urban Occult(2013)Description / Buy at
Dreaming of Djinn(2013)Description / Buy at
Midnight Echo Issue 9(2013)Description / Buy at
A Killer Among Demons(2013)Description / Buy at
Suspended In Dusk(2014)Description / Buy at
Far Voyager: A Postcripts Anthology 32/33(2014)Description / Buy at
Insert Title Here(2015)Description / Buy at
The Year's Best Australian Fantasy and Horror 2014(2015)Description / Buy at
Bloodlines(2015)Description / Buy at
In Your Face(2016)Description / Buy at
SNAFU: Future Warfare(2016)Description / Buy at
Dead of Night: The Best of Midnight Echo(2016)Description / Buy at
And Then... The Great Big Book of Awesome Adventure Tales! Vol 1(2016)Description / Buy at
The Year's Best Australian Fantasy and Horror 2015(2017)Description / Buy at
Hydrophobia(2017)Description / Buy at
Suspended in Dusk II(2018)Description / Buy at
Timeshift: Tales of Time(2018)Description / Buy at
What October Brings: A Lovecraftian Celebration of Halloween(2018)Description / Buy at
Sins and Other Worlds(2018)Description / Buy at
PREHISTORIC(2019)Description / Buy at
Fantasy(2019)Description / Buy at
SNAFU: Last Stand(2019)Description / Buy at
SNAFU: Medivac(2020)Description / Buy at
Black Dogs, Black Tales(2020)Description / Buy at
Halldark Holidays(2020)Description / Buy at
SNAFU: Survival of the Fittest(2021)Description / Buy at
The Bad Book(2021)Description / Buy at
Professor Charlatan Bardot’s Travel Anthology to the MostHaunted Buildings in the Weird, Wild World(2021)Description / Buy at
Found(2022)Description / Buy at
SNAFU: Dead or Alive(2022)Description / Buy at
Damnation Games(2022)Description / Buy at
SNAFU: Punk'd(2023)Description / Buy at

Note: The Jake Crowley and the San Aston series, as well as the novel Dark Rite were co-authored with David Wood.

If You Like Alan Baxter Books, You’ll Love…

Alan Baxter Synopses: Dark Rite is a standalone novel by David Wood and Alan Baxter. When his father’s death brings Grant Shipman to the Appalachian town of Wallen’s Gap, he believes his biggest problem will be dealing with the slow pace and odd townsfolk. But something sinister is at work. A dark power rises, an echo of the town’s bloody past. A book of blood magic offers an unspeakable horror a gateway into the world of the living, and only Grant stands in the way of their Dark Rite.

Primordial is the first Sam Aston Investigations novel by David Wood and Alan Baxter. When eccentric billionaire, Ellis Holloway, hires renegade marine biologist, Sam Aston, to investigate the legend of a monster in a remote Finnish lake, Aston’s first thought is the vanishing of his gambling debts. But he gets much more. There is something terrible living beneath the dark waters of Lake Kaarme and it is hungry. As the death toll mounts, Aston faces superstitious locals, a power-hungry police chief, and a benefactor’s descent into madness as he races to find the legendary beast of the lake.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Alan Baxter Books

Leave a Reply