Alan Russell
Alan Russell is an American author of crime fiction/mystery novels. Alan Russell played basketball at UC San Diego and made the team as a freshman, but had to quit due to a back injury. He ended up writing the student newspaper instead and ended up being the paper’s editor-in-chief. During his tenure, the paper went independent and eventually became known as The Guardian. After graduation, Russell worked in hospitality. Meanwhile, he wrote and sold articles for newspapers and magazines while working on novels. He used his experience in hospitality as a backdrop for his novels. In addition to his novels, Alan Russell has also ghostwritten some non-fiction books.

Alan Russell became a published novelist in 1990 with the novel No Sign of Murder. Following No Cats, No Chocolate, he took a hiatus of eight years until 2012’s Burning Man. Below is a list of Alan Russell’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Alan Russell releases a new book at

Publication Order of Hotel Detective Books

The Hotel Detective (1994)Description / Buy at
The Fat Innkeeper (1995)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Gideon and Sirius Books

Burning Man (2012)Description / Buy at
Guardians of the Night (2015)Description / Buy at
Lost Dog (2016)Description / Buy at
Gideon's Rescue (2018)Description / Buy at
L.A. Woman (2019)Description / Buy at
The Last Good Dog (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Detective Orson Cheever Books

Multiple Wounds (1996)Description / Buy at
The Homecoming (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Stuart Winter Books

No Sign of Murder (1990)Description / Buy at
Forest Prime Evil (1992)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Nick "Deke" Deketomis Books

Law and Disorder (By: Mike Papantonio) (2016)Description / Buy at
Law and Vengeance (By: Mike Papantonio) (2017)Description / Buy at
Law and Addiction (By: Mike Papantonio) (2019)Description / Buy at
Inhuman Trafficking (With: Mike Papantonio) (2021)Description / Buy at
Suspicious Activity (By: Mike Papantonio,Christopher Paulos) (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Malice Domestic 5(1996)Description / Buy at

Note: No Cats, No Chocolate was co-authored with Ken Kuhlken.

If You Like Alan Russell Books, You’ll Love…

Alan Russell Synopses: The first novel in Alan Russell’s Hotel Detective series is titled – believe it or not – Hotel Detective. Am Caulfield is an ex-surfer becomes a detective for a posh hotel, Hotel California, when a man leaps to his death, a stripper reports a theft and a husband kills his wife’s lover. All of these cases are up to Am to solve and more.

The next novel in Alan Russell’s Hotel Detective series, entitled The Fat Inkeeper, involves a beached whale and an annual grunion run that threaten the Hotel California’s nature promo.

In No Sign of Murder, a beautiful, deaf heiress named Anita Walters has gone missing and Stuart Winter must look into a strange scene she was involved in. His other option for clues is a gorilla named Joseph, who she had been teaching sign language to.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Alan Russell Books

Leave a Reply