Alanna Knight is a British author of historical mystery, romance and thriller novels and non-fiction books. She writes the Inspector Faro series, and the Rose McQuinn series. She has also written multiple books on Robert Louis Stevenson and as well as true crime, biographies, writing guides and plays. Alanna was born and grew up in Tyneside, England. She has been Honourary President of the Edinburgh Writers’ Club and of the Scottish Association of Writers. Alanna has two sons, two granddaughters, and lives in Edinburgh, Scotland.

Alanna Knight made her debut as a novelist in 1969 with the novel Legend of the Loch. Since then, she has had over 60 books published. Below is a list of Alanna Knight’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of Inspector Faro Books

Enter Second Murderer (1988)Description / Buy at
Blood Line (1989)Description / Buy at
Deadly Beloved (1989)Description / Buy at
Killing Cousins (1990)Description / Buy at
A Quiet Death (1991)Description / Buy at
To Kill a Queen (1992)Description / Buy at
The Evil That Men Do (1993)Description / Buy at
The Missing Duchess (1994)Description / Buy at
The Bull Slayers (1995)Description / Buy at
Murder by Appointment (1997)Description / Buy at
The Coffin Lane Murders (1998)Description / Buy at
The Final Enemy (2003)Description / Buy at
Unholy Trinity / Death at Carasheen (2004)Description / Buy at
Faro and the Royals (2005)Description / Buy at
Murder in Paradise (2009)Description / Buy at
The Seal King Murders (2011)Description / Buy at
Murders Most Foul (2013)Description / Buy at
Akin to Murder (2016)Description / Buy at
The Dower House Mystery (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Annie Kelty Books

The Royal Park Murder (1999)Description / Buy at
The Monster in the Loch (1999)Description / Buy at
Dead Beckoning (1999)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Rose McQuinn Books

The Inspector's Daughter (2000)Description / Buy at
Dangerous Pursuits (2003)Description / Buy at
An Orkney Murder (2003)Description / Buy at
Ghost Walk (2004)Description / Buy at
Destroying Angel (2009)Description / Buy at
Quest for a Killer (2010)Description / Buy at
Deadly Legacy (2012)Description / Buy at
The Balmoral Incident (2014)Description / Buy at
Murder Lies Waiting (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Tam Eildor Books

The Dagger in the Crown (2001)Description / Buy at
The Gowrie Conspiracy (2003)Description / Buy at
The Stuart Sapphire (2005)Description / Buy at
Murder at the World's Edge (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Inspector Faro and Rose McQuinn Books

The Darkness Within (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Inspector Faro Collections

Inspector Faro's Crime File: Short Stories (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Legend of the Loch (1970)Description / Buy at
The October Witch (1971)Description / Buy at
Castle Clodha (1972)Description / Buy at
Lament for Lost Lovers / Dead Man's Moon (1972)Description / Buy at
The White Rose (1973)Description / Buy at
A Stranger Came By (1974)Description / Buy at
A Drink for the Bridge (1977)Description / Buy at
Wicked Wynsleys (1977)Description / Buy at
Girl on an Empty Swing (1978)Description / Buy at
The Queen's Captain (As: Margaret Hope) (1978)Description / Buy at
The Shadow Queen (As: Margaret Hope) (1979)Description / Buy at
Black Duchess (1980)Description / Buy at
Hostage Most Royal (As: Margaret Hope) (1980)Description / Buy at
Passionate Kindness (1980)Description / Buy at
Castle of Foxes (1981)Description / Buy at
Colla (1982)Description / Buy at
Perilous Voyage (As: Margaret Hope) (1983)Description / Buy at
The Clan (1986)Description / Buy at
Estella (1986)Description / Buy at
The Sweet Cheat Gone (1992)Description / Buy at
Strathblair (1993)Description / Buy at
This Outward Angel (1993)Description / Buy at
Angel Eyes (1997)Description / Buy at
In the Shadow of the Minster (2002)Description / Buy at
The Midnight Visitor (2013)Description / Buy at
Miss Havisham's Revenge, Estella's Missing Years (2014)Description / Buy at
The Most Tragic Tay Bridge Disaster (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Plays

Private Life of Robert Louis Stevenson (1983)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Passionate Kindness / A Violent Passion (1974)Description / Buy at
R.L.S. in the South Seas (1987)Description / Buy at
Close and Deadly (2002)Description / Buy at
Burke and Hare (2007)Description / Buy at
101 Golden Rules for Writing Successful Fiction (2015)Description / Buy at
My Psychic Life, Mostly (2018)Description / Buy at
My Writing Life, Mostly (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Robert Louis Stevenson(1994)Description / Buy at

Notes: Unholy Trinity is also known as Death at Carasheen. Lament for Lost Lovers was also published as Dead Man’s Moon. Passionate Kindness was also titled A Violent Passion. A Drink for the Bridge is also known as The Most Tragic Tay Bridge Disaster.

The Queen’s Captain, The Shadow Queen, Hostage Most Royal, and Perilous Voyage were written under the pen name of Margaret Hope.

If You Like Alanna Knight Books, You’ll Love…

Alanna Knight Synopses: Legend of the Loch is a standalone novel by Alanna Knight. Beth Ryan goes to the Highlands to sell her inherited estate to find all that remains is a Victorian shooting lodge occupied by Calum MacRaven, local doctor and impoverished Laird of Glenrannoch – a whirlwind romance ensues, or so it seems. They marry but Beth has suspicions regarding a family feud, an abandoned baby and his ex-mistress Morven plus his ward Rona. Is the monster in the Loch, who allegedly drowned Calum’s first wife, on the rampage again and will Beth learn the truth too late? Her greatest problem becomes staying alive.

The Sweet Cheat Gone is a standalone title by Alanna Knight. Tragedy follows a young Scottish artist’s marriage to the heiress of the Rowe family business – one of Scotland’s largest – forcing him into a breathless battle with the powerful dynasty in which even his closest friends side against him.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Alanna Knight Books

Leave a Reply