Alex Gerlis s an English author and journalist. He is best known for writing spy novels including The Berlin Spies and The Swiss Spy. Gerlis worked for the BBC as a journalist for nearly thirty years before leaving to focus on his writing.

Gerlis was born in Grimsby, Lincolnshire and is a supporter of Grimsby Town. He started out with the BBC as a researcher with a three month contract on Panorama and worked his way through the ranks. His final job there was Head of Training in the BBC College of Journalism. He left to write books and has great success at that since. Gerlis lives in west London with his wife. He has two daughters and grandchildren.

Get notified when Alex Gerlis releases a new book at

Publication Order of Double Agent Books

Every Spy a Traitor (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Richard Price Thriller Books

Publication Order of Spy Masters Books

The Best of Our Spies (2012)Description / Buy at
The Swiss Spy (2015)Description / Buy at
Vienna Spies (2017)Description / Buy at
The Berlin Spies (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Wolf Pack Spies Books

Agent in Berlin (2021)Description / Buy at
Agent in Peril (2022)Description / Buy at
Agent in the Shadows (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Miracle of Normandy (2014)Description / Buy at
The D-Day Deception (2014)Description / Buy at

If You Like Alex Gerlis Books, You’ll Love…

The Berlin Spies is World War II era spy thriller. The book sees a group of Nazis plotting the next step as Germany prepares to surrender in World War II. They are hoping to bring about the Fourth Reich. Three decades later, a British diplomat in East Berlin falls into a honey-trap and becomes compromised. He calls on the help of a retired British spymaster and a rival Russian spymaster. They find themselves drawn into a world of Nazi war criminals and sympathizers in Britain, surrounded by double agents.

Another good book by Gerlis is The Best of Our Spies. This book is based on real events of the Second World War. It takes place in France, 1944, just after the Allied landings in Normandy. Nathalie Mercier is British Special Operations Executive secret agent working with the French Resistance, who has gone missing. Her husbamd, a Royal Navy Intelligence officer, sets off on a hunt for his wife. He’ll find out her role in the Allies’ sophisticated deception at the heart of D-Day, and will gain an insatiable appetite for revenge.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Alex Gerlis Books

Leave a Reply