Alex Gilvarry is an American author. He graduated from CUNY – Hunter College’s MFA Program in Creative Writing in 2009. Five years later, he was named one of the National Book Foundation’s “5 Under 35”. He is a professor of Creative Writing at New Jersey’s Monmouth University. Alex lives in Staten Island with his wife, fellow writer Alexandra Kleeman.

Alex Gilvarry made his debut as a published author in 2012 with the novel From the Memoirs of a Non-Enemy Combatant. In 2017, he published Eastman Was Here. Below is a list of Alex Gilvarry’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Alex Gilvarry releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

From the Memoirs of a Non-Enemy Combatant (2012)Description / Buy at
Eastman Was Here (2017)Description / Buy at

If You Like Alex Gilvarry Books, You’ll Love…

Alex Gilvarry Synopsis: Eastman Was Here is a a standalone title by Alex Gilvarry. The year is 1973, and Alan Eastman, a public intellectual, cultural critic of happenstance, past-his-prime war journalist, husband, and philanderer; finds himself alone on the floor of his study in an existential crisis. His wife has taken their kids and left him to live with her mother in New Jersey, and his best work feels as though it is years behind him. Feeling at his lowest, he receives an unexpected and unwelcome phone call from his old rival dating back to his days on the Harvard literary journal, offering him the chance to go to Vietnam to write the definitive account of the end of America’s longest war. Eyeing a chance to regain his wife’s love and admiration while reclaiming his former literary glory, he sets out for Vietnam. But instead of the return to form as a pioneering war correspondent that he had hoped for, he ends up in Saigon, dealing with the same problems he thought he’d left behind in New York.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Alex Gilvarry Books

Leave a Reply