Jennifer Egan is an American novelist. She was born in Chicago and raised in San Francisco. She attended the University of Pennsylvania and St. John’s College, Cambridge (where she earned her M.A.). As a journalist, Jennifer has also written for the New York Times Magazine.

Jennifer Egan made her debut as a novelist in 1994 with the novel The Invisible Circus. Below is a list of Jennifer Egan’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Jennifer Egan releases a new book at

Publication Order of Goon Squad Books

A Visit from the Goon Squad (2010)Description / Buy at
The Candy House (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Children's Books

Jack the Brave Conquers the Snow (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Publication Order of Anthologies

Ploughshares Fall 1989(1989)Description / Buy at
The Good Parts(2000)Description / Buy at
The O. Henry Prize Stories 2003(2003)Description / Buy at
The Believer Book of Writers Talking to Writers(2005)Description / Buy at
Making the Trees Shiver: An Anthology of the First Six Years of the Fort Greene Park Summer Literary Festival(2011)Description / Buy at
The Best American Short Stories 2014(2014)Description / Buy at
Fight of the Century(2020)Description / Buy at
The Writer's Library(2020)Description / Buy at

If You Like Jennifer Egan Books, You’ll Love…

Jennifer Egan Synopses: Why China? is a 34-page short story by Jennifer Egan. Sam Lafferty has hit rock bottom. Under investigation and on leave from the financial services firm he worked at, Sam has uprooted his wife and two daughters and dragged them against their will to central China. While on this lousy family vacation, in an alien and uncomfortable landscape, after years of deception, lousy investment, moral – and soon – coming financial-bankruptcy, and with his family in tow – Sam pursues the man who had first set him on a path to corruption from crumbling binguan hotels without soap or towels to Buddhist caves near Xi’an.

The Keep is a standalone title by Jennifer Egan. Two cousins, irreversibly damaged by a childhood prank, reunite twenty years later to renovate a medieval castle in Eastern Europe. In an environment of extreme paranoia, cut off from the outside world, the men reenact the signal event of their youth, with even more catastrophic results. And as the full horror of their predicament unfolds, a prisoner, in jail for an unnamed crime, recounts an unforgettable story that seamlessly brings the crimes of the past and present into piercing relation.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Jennifer Egan Books

Leave a Reply