Alex Marwood is a British author of crime thriller novels. Under her real name of Serena Mackesy, she has worked a journalist for different outlets in the British press. She is the granddaughter of two successful novelists. Alex lives in South London.

Alex Marwood debuted her pen name in 2012 with the novel The Wicked Girls. Below is a list of Alex Marwood’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Alex Marwood releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Wicked Girls (2008)Description / Buy at
The Killer Next Door (2013)Description / Buy at
The Darkest Secret (2016)Description / Buy at
The Poison Garden (2019)Description / Buy at
The Island of Lost Girls (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Note: Killer Women also has contributions by Jane Casey, Tammy Cohen, Sarah Hilary, Alison Joseph, Erin Kelly, Kate Medina, Colette McBeth, Melanie McGrath, D.E. Meredith, Louise Millar, Kate Rhodes, Helen Smith, Louise Voss and Laura Wilson.

If You Like Alex Marwood Books, You’ll Love…

Alex Marwood Synopsis: The Wicked Girls is a standalone title by Alex Marwood. In the summer of 1986, two eleven-year-old girls meet for the first time. Before the day is over, they will both be charged with murder. 25 years later, journalist Kirsty Lindsay is reporting on a series of sickening attacks on young female tourists in a seaside vacation town when her investigation leads her to interview carnival cleaner Amber Gordon. For Kirsty and Amber, it’s the first time they’ve seen each other since that dark day so many years ago. Now with new, vastly different lives – and unknowing families to protect—will they really be able to keep their wicked secret hidden?

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Alex Marwood Books

Leave a Reply