Marilyn Levinson is an American author who writes cozy mysteries under the name of Allison Brooks. She is best known for the A Haunted Library Mystery series of books. The book series started in 2017 with the release of Death Overdue.

Despite debuting under the name of Allison Brooks in 2017, Levinson has actually been writing novels since 1985. Levinson was born and grew up in New York, attending college at Syracuse University. In addition to the cozy mysteries she writes as Allison Brook, she also writes mysteries and children’s fiction.

Get notified when Allison Brook releases a new book at

Publication Order of The Haunted Library Mysteries Books

Death Overdue (2017)Description / Buy at
Read and Gone (2018)Description / Buy at
Buried in the Stacks (2019)Description / Buy at
Checked Out for Murder (2020)Description / Buy at
Death on the Shelf (2021)Description / Buy at
Dewey Decimated (2022)Description / Buy at
Overdue or Die (2023)Description / Buy at
Booked on Murder (2024)Description / Buy at

If You Like Allison Brook Books, You’ll Love…

Death Overdue is the first book in the Haunted Library Mystery series. The book follows Carrie Singleton who has recently been offered a job as the head of programs and events at the local spooky library. The book sees her holding an event for a retired detective who claims to know who killed a former library aide fifteen years ago. The event will share what he knows, but before he can he keels over and dies. It turns out he was poisoned and Carrie feels a responsibility to solve his murder. She’s convinced that the killer is the same person that killed the library aide all those years ago. She’ll investigate and get some help from a rather unique partner, the library’s ghost.

The second book in the series is called Read and Gone and features Carrie’s dad coming back into her life. He’s been on the lam for most of it, but he returns to her life when she catches him breaking into her cottage. Her father needs help recovering his half of a twenty-million-dollar gem heist he pulled off with a partner. She refuses, but she is soon reconnected with her father when he’s behind bars – arrested for the murder of his partner. This will send Carrie into an investigation to find the jewels and clear her estranged father’s name.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Allison Brook Books

2 Responses to “Order of Allison Brook Books”

  1. Connie Elston: 2 years ago

    I started reading A Haunted Library Mystery series upon the advice of our librarian. Enjoy them very much!
    Just starting to read Dewey Decimated and looking forward to the next one.
    Thank you for the captivating mysteries!
    Connie Elston


  2. Jan Swain: 2 years ago


    Enjoy the Haunted Library Mystery series, one of the best cozy mysteries on the shelves.

    The series has all the elements to keep the reader engrossed. A believable protagonist, a ghost, a great cat, and friends and relatives to flesh out the story.

    Thanks for a wonderful series.

    I read somewhere that Dewey Decimated is the last book of the series. Hope not, but if so, I hope the next series written will be as interesting as this one.

    Jan Swain
    Topeka, Kansas


Leave a Reply