Andrew M. Greeley (1928-2013) is an American author of mystery novels, family saga and non-fiction, but first and foremost, he is a Catholic priest. Greeley donates the income from his book sales to various causes, often helping out students and schools in Chicago and the Chicagoland area. He is the author of the Blackie Ryan, Nuala Anne McGrail, O’Malley Family and other series. He is a prolific author who claims that he “has never had an unpublished thought.” Unfortunately, the Father suffered a skull and orbital bone fracture in 2008, which ended up being the end of his career. He passed away in 2013.

Although he had been writing non-fiction since the ’60s, Andrew M. Greeley’s first work of fiction to be published was 1979’s The Magic Cup. Below is a list of Andrew M. Greeley’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of Passover Books

Thy Brother's Wife (1982)Description / Buy at
Ascent Into Hell (1983)Description / Buy at
Lord of the Dance (1984)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Blackie Ryan Books

Happy Are the Meek (1985)Description / Buy at
Happy Are the Clean of Heart (1986)Description / Buy at
Happy Are Those Who Thirst for Justice (1987)Description / Buy at
Happy Are the Merciful (1992)Description / Buy at
Happy Are the Peace Makers (1993)Description / Buy at
Happy Are the Poor in Spirit (1994)Description / Buy at
Happy Are Those Who Mourn (1995)Description / Buy at
Happy Are the Oppressed (1996)Description / Buy at
The Bishop at Sea (1997)Description / Buy at
The Bishop and the Three Kings (1998)Description / Buy at
The Bishop and the Missing L Train (2000)Description / Buy at
The Bishop and the Beggar Girl of St. Germain (2001)Description / Buy at
The Bishop in the West Wing (2002)Description / Buy at
The Bishop Goes to the University (2003)Description / Buy at
The Bishop in the Old Neighborhood (2005)Description / Buy at
The Bishop at the Lake (2007)Description / Buy at
The Archbishop in Andalusia (2008)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Time Between The Stars Books

Virgin and Martyr (1985)Description / Buy at
Angels of September (1986)Description / Buy at
Patience of a Saint (1987)Description / Buy at
Rite of Spring (1987)Description / Buy at
Love Song (1988)Description / Buy at
St. Valentine's Night (1989)Description / Buy at
Wages of Sin (1992)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of World Of Maggie Ward Books

The Cardinal Virtues (1990)Description / Buy at
An Occasion of Sin (1991)Description / Buy at
The Search for Maggie Ward (1991)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Nuala Anne McGrail Books

Publication Order of O'Malley's (Family Saga) Books

Summer at the Lake (1997)Description / Buy at
A Midwinter's Tale (1998)Description / Buy at
Younger Than Springtime (1999)Description / Buy at
A Christmas Wedding (2000)Description / Buy at
September Song (2001)Description / Buy at
Second Spring (2003)Description / Buy at
Golden Years (2004)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Angel Fire Books

Angel Fire (1988)Description / Buy at
Angel Light (1995)Description / Buy at
Contract with an Angel (1998)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Magic Cup (1979)Description / Buy at
Death in April (1980)Description / Buy at
The Cardinal Sins (1981)Description / Buy at
God Game (1986)Description / Buy at
The Final Planet (1987)Description / Buy at
All About Women (1989)Description / Buy at
Fall from Grace (1993)Description / Buy at
White Smoke (1996)Description / Buy at
Star Bright! (1997)Description / Buy at
The Priestly Sins (2004)Description / Buy at
The Senator and the Priest (2006)Description / Buy at
Home for Christmas (2009)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Poetry Collections

The Sense of Love (1992)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Letters to Nancy (1967)Description / Buy at
The Jesus Myth (1971)Description / Buy at
The Making of the Popes 1978 (1979)Description / Buy at
Faithful Attraction (1991)Description / Buy at
Religion as Poetry (1995)Description / Buy at
When Life Hurts: Healing Themes from the Gospels (1995)Description / Buy at
Religion in Europe at the End of the Second Millenium (2002)Description / Buy at
The Book of Love (2002)Description / Buy at
The Great Mysteries: Experiencing the Catholic Faith from the Inside Out (2003)Description / Buy at
Furthermore!: Memories of a Parish Priest (2004)Description / Buy at
The Catholic Revolution: New Wine, Old Wineskins and the Second Vatican Council (2004)Description / Buy at
Priests: A Calling in Crisis (2004)Description / Buy at
The Making of the Pope 2005 (2005)Description / Buy at
Jesus: A Meditation on His Stories (2007)Description / Buy at
A Stupid, Unjust and Criminal War: Iraq 2001-2007 (2007)Description / Buy at
Chicago Catholics and the Struggles Within Their Church (2010)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Kingdom of Fear: The World of Stephen King(1986)Description / Buy at
Sacred Visions(1991)Description / Buy at
Emerald Magic(2000)Description / Buy at

Note: The anthology Sacred Visions was co-edited with Michael Cassutt.

If You Like Andrew M. Greeley Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Andrew M. Greeley Books

2 Responses to “Order of Andrew M. Greeley Books”

  1. Benjamin: 3 months ago

    Fr. Greeley’s works are the reason I am an unrepentant catholic. “There’s nothing the world or the church itself do to a Catholic to make him/her leave the church or stop being catholic.” Once a catholic, is forever a catholic.

    Cardinal Sins, Cardinal virtues, White Smoke, Angels of september, Valentine, Contact with an Angel…..and many more, are some of my favorites.

    Thank you fore x-raying his life and times here, for some of us to learn more about his person and works.

    God bless you.

    Lagos, Nigeria


  2. Diane: 1 year ago

    I’m reading”Angels of September “ . In which book does the school fire occur?
    Thank you


Leave a Reply