Anne Griffin is a very accomplished writer, but she didn’t publish her first novel until 2019 when she released When All Is Said. The book was released by Sceptre in the UK and Ireland and by Thomas Dunne Books in the US and Canada.

Anne Griffin was born in Dublin in 1969 where she grew up. She went to UCD where she received her BA in History. She then spent the next eight years working for Waterstone’s Booksellers in Dublin and London. When she left there she went to work on her Post Graduate Diploma in Community and Youth Work at Maynooth University. She had a passion for charity and worked for various charities in her life including Women’s Aid, Youth Work Ireland and the Dyslexia Association of Ireland. By 2013, she started writing and took a Creative Writing course study at UCD. Her work was awarded the John McGahern Award for Literature which set her on the right path. She also was shortlisted for the Hennessy New Irish Writing Awards, shortlisted for the Sunday Business Post Short Story Award for ‘Some Tiny Clue’, and shortlisted for the Benedict Kiely Competition with ‘Mr. Henry’. She’s had numerous short stories published before undertaking her first novel.

Get notified when Anne Griffin releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

When All Is Said (2019)Description / Buy at
Listening Still (2021)Description / Buy at

If You Like Anne Griffin Books, You’ll Love…

In a small Irish town there is a grand hotel and in that hotel is a bar, because of course there is. At that bar sits Maurice Hannigan, 84-years old and alone as usual. The night is anything but usual though as tonight is the night that he’s decided to tell his story. He’s going to raise five toasts to the five people who have meant the most to him. Maurice will lay his life’s story bare and his story is a powerful one that is quite heart felt. A great debut novel.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Anne Griffin Books

Leave a Reply