Anne Lamott is an American author of fiction and non-fiction books. She is also a political activist and a public speaker. Anne tackles such topics as alcoholism, single motherhood, and Christianity. She is a graduate of Drew College Preparatory School in San Francisco, California. Anne lives in the Bay Area of California.

Anne Lamott made her debut as a published author in 1979 with the novel Hard Laughter. Below is a list of Anne Lamott’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Anne Lamott releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Operating Instructions (1993)Description / Buy at
Bird by Bird (1994)Description / Buy at
Traveling Mercies (1999)Description / Buy at
Word by Word (1999)Description / Buy at
Plan B (2004)Description / Buy at
Grace (2007)Description / Buy at
Some Assembly Required (2012)Description / Buy at
Help Thanks Wow (2012)Description / Buy at
Stitches (2013)Description / Buy at
The Hope and Renewal Collection (2014)Description / Buy at
Small Victories (2014)Description / Buy at
Hallelujah Anyway (2017)Description / Buy at
Almost Everything (2018)Description / Buy at
Dusk, Night, Dawn: On Revival and Courage (2021)Description / Buy at
Somehow: Thoughts on Love (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Between Mothers and Sons: Women Writers Talk about Having Sons and Raising Men(1999)Description / Buy at
Imagine: What America Could Be in the 21st Century(2000)Description / Buy at
Scoot Over, Skinny: The Fat Nonfiction Anthology(2005)Description / Buy at
40 Model Essays(2005)Description / Buy at
By the Book(2014)Description / Buy at
Life Is Short – Art Is Shorter: In Praise of Brevity(2015)Description / Buy at
Days Like This(2015)Description / Buy at
Shattering Glass(2020)Description / Buy at

Note: Some Assembly Required was co-authored by Sam Lamott.

If You Like Anne Lamott Books, You’ll Love…

Anne Lamott Synopses: In Hard Laughter by Anne Lamott, a sensitive and reflective 24-year-old woman chronicles her family’s confrontation with illness when it is discovered that her father suffers from an inoperable brain tumor.

In Rosie by Anne Lamott, a precocious eight-year-old named Rosie Ferguson discovers the unpleasantness of real life through the actions of the father of her best friend, Sharon Thackery.

Joe Jones is a standalone novel by Anne Lamott. Louise, a cook at Jessie’s Cafe, relies on humor and the friendship of her co-workers and regulars at the cafe to get over her breakup with Joe Jones

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Anne Lamott Books

Leave a Reply