Barbara Erskine is an English author of historical fiction, supernatural and romance novels. Barbara has always been interested in history, which started with her own family history and later became studying Scottish history at Edinburgh University. She began writing short stories in her spare time. Eventually, she would begin researching and developing the idea of Lady of Hay.

Barbara Erskine made her debut as a published author in 1986 with the novel Lady of Hay, which was published 10 years after the story was roughed out. Below is a list of Barbara Erskine’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Barbara Erskine releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Lady of Hay (1986)Description / Buy at
Kingdom of Shadows (1988)Description / Buy at
Child of the Phoenix (1992)Description / Buy at
Midnight Is a Lonely Place (1994)Description / Buy at
House of Echoes (1996)Description / Buy at
On the Edge of Darkness (1998)Description / Buy at
Whispers in the Sand (2000)Description / Buy at
Hiding from the Light (2002)Description / Buy at
Daughters of Fire (2006)Description / Buy at
The Warrior's Princess (2008)Description / Buy at
Time’s Legacy (2010)Description / Buy at
River of Destiny (2012)Description / Buy at
The Darkest Hour (2014)Description / Buy at
Sleeper’s Castle (2016)Description / Buy at
The Ghost Tree (2018)Description / Buy at
The Dream Weavers (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

If You Like Barbara Erskine Books, You’ll Love…

Barbara Erskine Synopses: Lady of Hay is a standalone title by Barbara Erskine. In London, journalist Jo Clifford plans to debunk the belief in past-lives in a hard-hitting magazine piece. But her scepticism is shaken when a hypnotist forces her to relive the experiences of Matilda, Lady of Hay, a noblewoman during the reign of King John. She learns of Matilda’s unhappy marriage, her love for the handsome Richard de Clare, and the brutal death threats handed out by King John, before it becomes clear that Jo’s past and present are inevitably entwined. She realises that eight hundred years on, Matilda’s story of secret passion and unspeakable treachery is about to repeat itself…

In Kingdom of Shadows by Barbara Erskine, Claire Royland’s life is conducted against the background of the Scottish oil industry, but she finds herself being drawn further into the life of a woman who lived 600 years earlier…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Barbara Erskine Books

Leave a Reply