Photo Credit: Charlie Hopkinson
Elizabeth Chadwick is a British author of historical fiction. She writes a series featuring the real-life historical figure William Marshal. Ever since Elizabeth was young, she has been making up stories, but only started writing when she was 15. After writing a story about the Holy Land in the 12th century, she realized that this was what she wanted to do for a living. When not writing, one of Elizabeth’s hobbies is being part of the historical re-enactment group Regia Anglorum.

Elizabeth Chadwick became a published novelist in 1990 with the novel The Wild Hunt, which began a trilogy of novels. Below is a list of Elizabeth Chadwick’s books in order of when they were originally released (as well as in chronological order):

Get notified when Elizabeth Chadwick releases a new book at

Publication Order of Wild Hunt Trilogy Books

The Wild Hunt (1990)Description / Buy at
The Running Vixen (1991)Description / Buy at
The Leopard Unleashed (1992)Description / Buy at
The Coming of the Wolf (2020)Description / Buy at
The Coming of the Wolf is a prequel.

Publication Order of William Marshal Books

The Greatest Knight (2005)Description / Buy at
The Scarlet Lion (2006)Description / Buy at
A Place Beyond Courage (2007)Description / Buy at
For the King's Favor / The Time of Singing (2008)Description / Buy at
To Defy a King (2010)Description / Buy at
Templar Silks (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Eleanor of Aquitaine Books

The Summer Queen (2013)Description / Buy at
The Winter Crown (2014)Description / Buy at
The Autumn Throne (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Jeanette of Kent Duology Books

The Royal Rebel (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of FitzWarin Books

Lords of the White Castle / The Outlaw Knight (2000)Description / Buy at
Shadows and Strongholds (2004)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Daughters of the Grail / Children of Destiny (1993)Description / Buy at
Shields of Pride (1994)Description / Buy at
First Knight (1995)Description / Buy at
The Conquest (1996)Description / Buy at
The Champion (1997)Description / Buy at
The Love Knot (1998)Description / Buy at
The Marsh King's Daughter (1999)Description / Buy at
The Winter Mantle (2002)Description / Buy at
The Falcons of Montabard (2003)Description / Buy at
Lady of the English (2011)Description / Buy at
The Irish Princess (2019)Description / Buy at
A Marriage of Lions (2022)Description / Buy at
The King's Jewel (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Loves Me, Loves Me Not(2009)Description / Buy at
Historical Stories of Exile(2023)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Time of Singing was published in the USA as For the King’s Favor. Children of Destiny was also published as Daughters of the Grail. A Wilderness Christmas also includes stories by Madeline Baker, Norah Hess and Connie Mason.

If You Like Elizabeth Chadwick Books, You’ll Love…

Elizabeth Chadwick Synopsis: In The Wild Hunt by Elizabeth Chadwick, Judith of Ravenstow has married the roguish Guyon as a way to protect both of their lands from her merciless uncle. At first, the idea of being married is not a favourable one for Judith, until Guyon shows her the upsides of being married to a handsome rogue.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Elizabeth Chadwick Books

One Response to “Order of Elizabeth Chadwick Books”

  1. Pamela Neal: 3 years ago

    I have read almost all of Elizabeth Chadwick’s books and I love them. They are quite hard to get hold of these days. I also enjoy Sharon Penman (sadly she passed away this year), Alison Weir and Philippa Gregory.


Leave a Reply