Barry S. Brown is an American author of mystery novels. He writes the Mrs. Hudson of Baker Street series. Barry prepared for his Mrs. Hudson of Baker Street series by pursuing a research career in the fields of mental health, criminology and drug abuse. While the stories are written with a tongue-in-cheek style, Barry keeps a close eye on historical accuracy including the events and people involved. Barry lives in Carolina Beach, North Carolina wearing a cape and deerstalker hat.

Barry S. Brown made his debut as a novelist in 2010 with the novel The Unpleasantness at Parkerton Manor. Below is a list of Barry S. Brown’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Barry S. Brown releases a new book at

Publication Order of Mrs. Hudson Of Baker Street Books

The Unpleasantness at Parkerton Manor (2010)Description / Buy at
Mrs. Hudson and the Irish Invincibles (2011)Description / Buy at
Mrs. Hudson in the Ring (2013)Description / Buy at
Mrs. Hudson in New York (2015)Description / Buy at
Mrs Hudson's Olympic Triumph (2017)Description / Buy at
Mrs. Hudson Takes The Stage (2020)Description / Buy at
Mrs. Hudson and the Wild West (2022)Description / Buy at

If You Like Barry S. Brown Books, You’ll Love…

Barry S. Brown Synopsis: The Unpleasantness at Parkerton Manor by Barry S. Brown is the first book in the Mrs. Hudson of Baker Street. It is the Victorian Era. One woman rules the British Empire; virtually all other women rule domains no larger than their kitchens. The widow of Constable Tobias Hudson is determined not to be one of those other women. She uses the lodgings she has leased at 221B Baker Street to recruit the male figurehead she needs for the consulting detective agency that will make use of her investigative skills and observational abilities. It is a definite plus that the most attractive applicant for that role, Sherlock Holmes, brings with him the level-headed Dr. John Watson. This, then, is the first in the Mrs. Hudson of Baker Street series designed to expose and celebrate the genius and achievements of the true sage of Baker Street.

The services of the consulting detective agency are requested by Lady Parkerton, whose husband, Sir Stanley, appears to have been poisoned after a family dinner in which he had the same food and drink as all other guests. When the family’s coachman, who drinks too much and knows too much, is murdered as well, the game is truly afoot. Mrs. Hudson and her colleagues must not only sort through the motives and movements of the Parkerton family and staff, they must contend, as well, with the threat posed by the unexpected return to England of the White Rajah of Sarawak and the sudden intrusion of headhunters into the English countryside.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Barry S. Brown Books

Leave a Reply