Benedict Brown is a British author of cozy mystery novels. He writes the Izzy Palmer series and the Lord Edgington Investigates series. Benedict has always been passionate about writing; it was his favourite part of primary school and it was what he pursued in university, eventually earning himself an MA in Creative Writing. Benedict now resides in Burgos, Spain with his wife and their children.

Benedict Brown made his debut as a novelist in 2019 with A Corpse Called Bob, which follows a novella he previously published on his website. Below is a list of Benedict Brown’s books in order of when they were first published:

Get notified when Benedict Brown releases a new book at

Publication Order of Izzy Palmer Mystery Books

A Corpse in the Freezer (2019)Description / Buy at
A Corpse Called Bob (2019)Description / Buy at
A Corpse in a Caravan (2020)Description / Buy at
A Corpse in the Country (2020)Description / Buy at
A Corpse on the Beach (2020)Description / Buy at
A Corpse in London (2020)Description / Buy at
A Corpse for Christmas (2020)Description / Buy at
A Corpse at a Birthday Party (2020)Description / Buy at
A Corpse in a Locked Room (2021)Description / Buy at
A Corpse in a Quaint English Village (2021)Description / Buy at
A Corpse Wrapped in Tinsel (2021)Description / Buy at
A Corpse at A School Reunion (2023)Description / Buy at
Free novellas of A Corpse in the Freezer, A Corpse at a Birthday Party and A Corpse Wrapped in Tinsel are available at

Publication Order of Lord Edgington Investigates Books

Murder at the Spring Ball (2021)Description / Buy at
Death from High Places (2021)Description / Buy at
A Body at a Boarding School (2021)Description / Buy at
Death on a Summer’s Day (2021)Description / Buy at
The Mystery of Mistletoe Hall (2021)Description / Buy at
The Tangled Treasure Trail (2022)Description / Buy at
The Curious Case of the Templeton (2022)Description / Buy at
The Crimes of Clearwell Castle (2022)Description / Buy at
The Snows of Weston Moor (2022)Description / Buy at
What the Vicar Saw (2023)Description / Buy at
Blood on the Banisters (2023)Description / Buy at
A Killer in the Wings (2023)Description / Buy at
The Christmas Bell Mystery (2023)Description / Buy at
A Novel Way to Kill (2024)Description / Buy at
The Puzzle of Parham House (2024)Description / Buy at
Free novellas are available at

Publication Order of Marius Quin Mystery Books

Murder at Everham Hall (2023)Description / Buy at
The Hurtwood Village Murders (2024)Description / Buy at
The Castleton Affair (2024)Description / Buy at
A Body at the Grand Hotel (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Mysteries, Midsummer Sun and Murders(2022)Description / Buy at

If You Like Benedict Brown Books, You’ll Love…

Benedict Brown Synopses: A Corpse Called Bob is the first book in the Izzy Palmer Mysteries by Benedict Brown. In a workplace filled with disdain for Bob Thomas, the brutish manager, someone has finally taken their hatred to the extreme and committed murder. Izzy Palmer, a dedicated crime fiction enthusiast, stumbles upon the crime scene when she discovers Bob stabbed to death in his office. Convinced that she’s the only one capable of solving the case, Izzy, with her lifelong love for whodunits, is determined to uncover the killer’s identity.

Despite the police showing no interest in her assistance and her best friend behaving suspiciously, Izzy remains undeterred. Even the possibility of developing feelings for one of the suspects won’t sway her determination. Armed with an encyclopedic knowledge of golden-age mysteries, Izzy sets out to unravel the mystery behind Bob’s murder. Will her passion for crime fiction be enough to identify the killer, or is Izzy unwittingly putting herself in the crosshairs as the next potential victim?

Murder at the Spring Ball by Benedict Brown is the first book of the Lord Edgington Investigates series. In England, 1925, former detective Lord Edgington of Cranley Hall, who had spent years in seclusion, decides to break his isolation with a grand ball to celebrate his seventy-fifth birthday. However, the joyous occasion takes a dark turn when members of his scheming family begin turning up dead. Faced with a series of mysterious murders, the elderly lord enlists the help of his teenage grandson to unravel the killer’s identity before another family member falls victim.

This unlikely pair must navigate through a mix of preening playboys, scatter-brained spinsters, and irate inspectors in an Agatha Christie-style whodunnit. Racing against time, they must discern the culprit from this diverse cast of characters, adding an element of suspense that will keep readers on the edge of their seats.

Murder at Everham Hall is the first book of the Marius Quin Mysteries series by Benedict Brown. Set in December 1927, mystery writer Marius Quin faces the daunting challenge of crafting his next bestseller while burdened with mounting mortgage payments. Seeking distraction, he accepts an invitation from his childhood friend Lady Isabella Montague to attend an intimate New Year’s Eve party hosted by a narcissistic actor. Accompanied by his perpetually glum Basset hound, Marius embarks on a journey through snowy lanes to the opulent Everham Hall.

As the festivities kick off, with fireworks lighting up the sky and champagne corks popping, the joyous occasion takes a sinister turn when the host is murdered. Stranded by a snowstorm and cut off from the police, Marius finds himself thrust into the role of an amateur detective, nominated by the panicked partygoers to uncover the killer. Yet, Marius quickly discovers that solving real-life mysteries is a far greater challenge than penning them.

With two more guests falling victim to attacks, Marius, assisted by Bella, must navigate through a cast of conniving suspects and unravel the truth before the killer sets their sights on him. In this snowbound mansion mystery, Marius Quin must rely on his wit and deduction skills to unmask the culprit and ensure his own survival.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Benedict Brown Books

Leave a Reply