Bill Konigsberg is an American author known for writing Honestly Ben, Openly Straight, and The Music of What Happens. He is an author as well as a sports writer and won a GLAAD Media Award in 2002, for his column “Sports World Still a Struggle for Gays” at ESPN.

Konigsberg would later work as sports writer and editor at the Associated Press in New York, but found himself becoming bored and decided to write the novel Audible. The publishers changed their title to Out of the Pocket and won him a Lambda Literary Award in 2009. He followed that book up with Openly Straight which won the Sid Fleischman Award for Humor. Additionally, his third novel The Porcupine of Truth won the Stonewall Book Award and PEN Center USA Literary Award.

Get notified when Bill Konigsberg releases a new book at

Publication Order of Openly Straight Books

Openly Straight (2013)Description / Buy at
Honestly Ben (2017)Description / Buy at
Openly, Honestly (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Out of the Pocket (2008)Description / Buy at
The Porcupine of Truth (2015)Description / Buy at
The Music of What Happens (2019)Description / Buy at
The Bridge (2020)Description / Buy at
Destination Unknown (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Banned Together: Our Fight for Readers' Rights(2025)Description / Buy at

If You Like Bill Konigsberg Books, You’ll Love…

Openly Straight is a story about Rafe. He is a normal teenager from Boulder, Colorado who plays soccer and likes to write. He’s also gay and has been out since 8th grade. He likes who he is and is accepted for it, but he often finds himself getting sick of always being the “gay kid” at school. So when he transfers to an all-boys boarding school he decides to go back in the closet and keep his sexuality a secret. It’s going well til he sees a classmate breaking down and decides to help him while also finding love.

Konigsberg also wrote The Music of What Happens which tells the story of the mismatched pair of Max and Jordan. Max is chill and openly gay with no problems associated with that. While Jordan is still in the closet who is struggling to hold his family together and has never been kissed. The two work together at a food truck over the summer and face their biggest fears and decide what they’re willing to risk — to get the thing they want the most.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Bill Konigsberg Books

One Response to “Order of Bill Konigsberg Books”

  1. PhxFrank: 4 years ago

    Great author and friend.


Leave a Reply