Brenda Chapman is a Canadian mystery writer. She is best known for the Jennifer Bannon series of books that are aimed at ages ten and up. She also writes the Stonechild and Rouleau Mystery series which is aimed at an older audience.

Chapman grew up in Ontario and attended university at Lakehead University. She majored in English and received her Bachelor of Education degree from Queen’s University. She taught special education for fifteen years before becoming a government employee. Now living in Ottawa, she published her first book in 2004.

Get notified when Brenda Chapman releases a new book at

Publication Order of Anna Sweet Mysteries Books

Publication Order of Hunter and Tate Books

Publication Order of Stonechild and Rouleau Mysteries Books

Cold Mourning (2014)Description / Buy at
Butterfly Kills (2015)Description / Buy at
Tumbled Graves (2016)Description / Buy at
Shallow End (2017)Description / Buy at
Bleeding Darkness (2018)Description / Buy at
Turning Secrets (2019)Description / Buy at
Closing Time (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Running Scared (2004)Description / Buy at
Hiding in Hawk's Creek (2006)Description / Buy at
Where Trouble Leads (2007)Description / Buy at
Trail of Secrets (2009)Description / Buy at
In Winter's Grip (2010)Description / Buy at
The Second Wife (2011)Description / Buy at
Second Chances (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Cold Canadian Crime(2022)Description / Buy at

If You Like Brenda Chapman Books, You’ll Love…

Cold Mourning is the first book in the Stonechild and Rouleau Mystery series. The book introduces us to Kala Stonechild, a brand new detective in Ottawa. It’s cold in Ottawa around Christmas when Tom Underwood goes missing. He’s a wealthy man with a lot of enemies around town that might want him dead. Kala’s first task is a big win as she’s meant to find him and bring him home, but there is a killer out there with other plans. What is their motive? And why is murder seemingly stalking this family? Stonechild alongside her Sergeant Rouleau have their work cut out for them in this book.

Another good book by Chapman is In Winter’s Grip. This book follows Maja Cleary in the aftermath of her mother’s suicide. The death caused her to turn her back on her family and leave the small town of Duved Cove, Minnesota behind. Then one day she gets a phone call from home that says her father has been murdered with her brother being the top suspect. She has kept close to her brother all of these years and heads home in hopes of finding out what happened, and figuring out who wanted her father dead.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Brenda Chapman Books

Leave a Reply