Brian James Freeman is an author who was seemingly meant to do this. He sold his first short story at the ripe age of just fourteen while he sold his first full-length novel at the age of 24. His short novella The Painted Darkness was his breakout in 2010 as it was read 30,000 in the first three months of release.

Freeman is a well-known Stephen King fan and has published two books of trivia on the author. He’s also written articles, conducted interviews, and even published works by the great author. Freeman lives in Pennsylvania with his wife and children where he writes as well as works as the general manager of Cemetery Dance Publications, the publisher of Lonely Road Books, and the founder of Books to Benefit.

Get notified when Brian James Freeman releases a new book at

Publication Order of Dark Screams Anthology Books

Dark Screams: Volume One (By: Kelley Armstrong) (2014)Description / Buy at
Dark Screams: Volume Two (2015)Description / Buy at
Dark Screams: Volume Three (2015)Description / Buy at
Dark Screams: Volume Four (2015)Description / Buy at
Dark Screams: Volume Five (2015)Description / Buy at
Dark Screams: Volume Six (2017)Description / Buy at
Dark Screams: Volume Seven (2017)Description / Buy at
Dark Screams: Volume Eight (With: Richard T. Chizmar,Frank Darabont) (2017)Description / Buy at
Dark Screams: Volume Nine (By: Kelley Armstrong) (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Halloween Carnival Anthology Books

Halloween Carnival Volume 1 (2017)Description / Buy at
Halloween Carnival Volume 2 (2017)Description / Buy at
Halloween Carnival Volume 3 (2017)Description / Buy at
Halloween Carnival Volume 4 (2017)Description / Buy at
Halloween Carnival Volume 5 (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Painted Darkness (2010)Description / Buy at
More Than Midnight (2012)Description / Buy at
Weak And Wounded (2013)Description / Buy at
Darkness Whispers (With: Richard T. Chizmar) (2017)Description / Buy at
The Halloween Children (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Seven Stories (2010)Description / Buy at
Lost and Lonely (2018)Description / Buy at
Walking with Ghosts (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Blue November Storms (2004)Description / Buy at
Monster Night (2012)Description / Buy at
Dreamlike States (2014)Description / Buy at
The Christmas Spirit (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Illustrated Stephen King Trivia Book (2012)Description / Buy at
The Illustrated Stephen King Movie Trivia Book (2012)Description / Buy at
Fate and The Exorcist (2013)Description / Buy at
Reading Stephen King (With: Frank Darabont) (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Picture Books

The Zombie Who Cried Human (2018)Description / Buy at
The Girl Who Builds Monsters (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

This Is Push(2007)Description / Buy at
In Laymon's Terms(2008)Description / Buy at
Shivers VI(2010)Description / Buy at
Shroud 11(2011)Description / Buy at
Dueling Minds(2013)Description / Buy at
Shivers VII(2013)Description / Buy at
Turn Down the Lights(2013)Description / Buy at
Now Write! Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror(2014)Description / Buy at
Better Weird(2015)Description / Buy at
10 Halloween Haunts(2015)Description / Buy at
Detours(2016)Description / Buy at
Dark Tides(2019)Description / Buy at
Midnight Under the Big Top(2020)Description / Buy at

If You Like Brian James Freeman Books, You’ll Love…

The Halloween Children is a chilling book that Freeman wrote with Bram Stoker Award winner Norman Prentiss. This book tells of an affordable place to live called Stillbrook Apartments. Everything is quiet and normal until strange things start happening. The children start telling disturbing stories, noises are coming through the walls, and one abandoned unit is found to be inhabited by something sinister—something that’s no longer alive. To combat this, the apartments ban Halloween, but we all know what happens when there are no treats on Halloween – only tricks.

The Painted Darkness tells the story of Henry who saw something quite disturbing as a child. The only way he was able with his grief was by drawing pictures. Eventually, he was able to move past the bad things he saw and moved on, but he continued to draw and paint. In his adult life he would have a family of his own and made his living drawing the disturbing images. When he moves into a farmhouse with his family, he’ll find that the dark things from his past are still out there.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Brian James Freeman Books

Leave a Reply