Brian Staveley (Photo Credit: Laura Swoyer)
Brian Staveley is an American author of epic fantasy novels. He writes the Chronicle of the Unhewn Throne trilogy. Brian has taught literature, religion, history and philosophy and brings all four of those subjects into his writing. He earned his MA in Creative Writing from Boston University. Brian lives in Vermont with his wife and son. He enjoys running trails, splitting wood and writing.

Brian Staveley made his debut as a published novelist in 2014 with the novel The Emperor’s Blades. Below is a list of Brian Staveley’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Brian Staveley releases a new book at

Publication Order of Chronicle Of The Unhewn Throne Books

The Emperor's Blades (2014)Description / Buy at
The Providence of Fire (2015)Description / Buy at
The Last Mortal Bond (2016)Description / Buy at
Skullsworn (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Ashes Of The Unhewn Throne Books

The Empire's Ruin (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Log Goblin (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Unbound(2016)Description / Buy at
Some of the Best from, 2015 edition(2016)Description / Buy at
Art of War(2018)Description / Buy at

If You Like Brian Staveley Books, You’ll Love…

Brian Staveley Synopsis: In The Emperor’s Blades by Brian Staveley (book 1 of the trilogy), the emperor of Annur is dead, by unknown hands. His daughter and two sons, scattered across the world, do what they must to stay alive and unmask the assassins. But each of them also has a life-path on which their father set them, destinies entangled with both ancient enemies and inscrutable gods. Kaden, the heir to the Unhewn Throne, has spent eight years sequestered in a remote mountain monastery, learning the enigmatic discipline of monks devoted to the Blank God. Their rituals hold the key to an ancient power he must master before it’s too late. An ocean away, Valyn endures the brutal training of the Kettral, elite soldiers who fly into battle on gigantic black hawks. But before he can set out to save Kaden, Valyn must survive one horrific final test. At the heart of the empire, Minister Adare, elevated to her station by one of the emperor’s final acts, is determined to prove herself to her people. But Adare also believes she knows who murdered her father, and she will stop at nothing ― and risk everything ― to see that justice is served.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Brian Staveley Books

Leave a Reply