Bruce Robert Coffin is an American author best known for writing the Detective Byron mystery series.

Coffin has a background in police work which gives his writing an added layer of authenticity. He worked for over twenty-seven years in law enforcement in Maine’s largest city where he supervised all homicide and violent crime investigations. After September 11th, 2001, he worked with the FBI on counter-terrorism where he earned the Director’s Award. His writing has won him Killer Nashville’s Silver Falchion Awards for Best Procedural and Best Investigator, and the Maine Literary Award for Best Crime Fiction Novel.

Get notified when Bruce Robert Coffin releases a new book at

Publication Order of Detective Byron Books

Among the Shadows (2016)Description / Buy at
Beneath the Depths (2017)Description / Buy at
Beyond the Truth (2018)Description / Buy at
Within Plain Sight (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Turner and Mosley Files Books

(with LynDee Walker)

The General's Gold (2024)Description / Buy at
The Cardinal's Curse (2024)Description / Buy at
The Pirate's Secret (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Impediment (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Writers Crushing COVID-19(2020)Description / Buy at
Masthead(2020)Description / Buy at
The Great Filling Station Holdup(2021)Description / Buy at
Bloodroot: Best New England Crime Stories(2021)Description / Buy at
Deadly Nightshade: Best New England Crime Stories 2022(2022)Description / Buy at
Black Cat Weekly 127(2024)Description / Buy at

If You Like Bruce Robert Coffin Books, You’ll Love…

Among the Shadows is the first book in the Detective John Byron series. The book takes place in fall in Portland, Maine which is usually a quieter time of the year after the tourists have went home. Things are anything but when a retired cop is murdered and the city is put on edge. Byron is on the case just as his own life is starting to unravel. He’s all business as his personal life crumbles though and puts an added emphasis on solving the murder of a fellow officer. Then another ex-police officer dies and the case gets bigger than he’d previously imagined. The clock is ticking as danger lurks for him and his fellow officers.

Byron returns in Beneath the Depths. This time he’s investigating the death of a prominent Portland attorney who was found in the bottom of Casco Bay. He had just lost a multimillion dollar civil trial, but Byron knows that this death is not an accident. The lawyer had a dark side and secrets that someone was willing to kill to keep quiet. The case will lead into a world of corruption, betrayal, and murder that only Byron can stop.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Bruce Robert Coffin Books

Leave a Reply