Chris Carter
Chris Carter is a Brazilian author of thriller novels. Chris Carter has already lived enough for three or four lifetimes. After he graduated from high school in his native Brazil, Chris moved to the United States to study psychology and criminal behaviour. He went on to become a criminal psychologist, working on over a hundred cases involving serial killers, murderers and other serious offenders. His next career was as a rock star in LA and London. He then changed careers once again to become a full-time writer, in order to write his Robert Hunter series.

Chris Carter became a published author in 2009 with the novel The Crucifix Killer. Below is a list of Chris Carter’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Chris Carter releases a new book at

Publication Order of Robert Hunter Books

The Crucifix Killer (2009)Description / Buy at
The Executioner (2010)Description / Buy at
The Night Stalker (2011)Description / Buy at
The Death Sculptor (2012)Description / Buy at
The Hunter (2013)Description / Buy at
One by One (2013)Description / Buy at
An Evil Mind (2014)Description / Buy at
I am Death (2015)Description / Buy at
The Caller (2017)Description / Buy at
The Gallery of the Dead (2018)Description / Buy at
Hunting Evil (2019)Description / Buy at
Written in Blood (2020)Description / Buy at
Genesis (2022)Description / Buy at
The Death Watcher (2024)Description / Buy at
The Hunter is a prequel to the Robert Hunter series.

If You Like Chris Carter Books, You’ll Love…

Chris Carter Synopsis: The Crucifix Killer is Chris Carter’s debut novel and the first novel in his series featuring LAPD Homicide Detective Robert Hunter. A body of a young woman is found in an abandoned cottage in the LA National Forest, Robert Hunter now experiences a recurring nightmare where a victim is naked and strung up onto two wooden posts, then tortured to death. Skin, ripped from her face and a cross carved into her neck – this is the signature of The Crucifix Killer. But the Crucifix Killer has already been apprehended, convicted and executed. Is this a copycat killer or does the Crucifix Killer live?

The Night Stalker is the third book in the Robert Hunter series from novelist Chris Carter. In an eerie tableau, an unidentified female body is discovered meticulously arranged upon a slab within the confines of an abandoned butcher’s emporium. The circumstances of her demise remain shrouded in uncertainty; her form devoid of any discernible wounds, save for a macabre detail—the deliberate stitching that has sealed her lips shut.

As the investigation unfolds under the scrutinizing gaze of the Los Angeles County morgue, the pathologist unveils a grim reality that shocks even the seasoned sensibilities of Detective Robert Hunter from the Los Angeles Homicide Special Section. Such is the gravity of the situation that Hunter is promptly reassigned from his ongoing case to spearhead the inquiry into this unsettling puzzle.

However, Hunter’s pursuit takes a riveting turn when it intersects with the probing efforts of the astute Whitney Meyers, who is actively engrossed in a parallel missing persons’ investigation. The lines between these distinct cases blur, and Hunter begins to suspect that a ruthless predator may be ensnaring multiple women in his sinister web. The seasoned detective becomes a relentless hunter, his pursuit driving him ever closer to a murderer whose fixation has twisted love into an insidious brand of malevolence.

The Death Sculptor by Chris Carter is book 4 in the Robert Hunter series. A student nurse’s world is shattered when she stumbles upon the lifeless body of prosecutor Derek Nicholson, her patient, brutally murdered in his hospital bed. The act appears bewilderingly senseless—Nicholson was already in the throes of a terminal illness, with mere weeks left to live. However, what truly rattles Detective Robert Hunter of the Los Angeles Robbery Homicide Division is the chilling signature the killer has left behind.

Hunter is certain that the murderer is attempting to send a message to the police, yet the method employed is a baffling departure from anything he has encountered before. The cryptic message remains elusive, veiled in mystery.

Just as Hunter and his partner Garcia begin to follow a promising lead, another victim is discovered, bearing the same enigmatic calling card. With no discernible connection between the initial and subsequent victims, their progress unravels swiftly.

In an unforeseen collaboration with the confident investigator Alice Beaumont, Hunter is thrust into a relentless race against time, laboring to reconstruct the fragmented puzzle. Their objective is clear: to outpace the Death Sculptor’s sinister intentions and prevent him from adding the final, grisly touches to his masterpiece of death.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Chris Carter Books

7 Responses to “Order of Chris Carter Books”

  1. Steve Wilson: 2 years ago

    Just finished genesis brilliant and gripping read. Well done Chris Carter
    Have read all your books not one is disappointing can’t wait for the next one


  2. owl: 3 years ago

    I don know who he is and don know about his books until i got one of his book, the caller, after i finished reading i started to follow him and finally i got all the his books (the hunter series)

    I am now looking forward to his upcoming new book(s)if there is any.


  3. Kayla Brière: 8 years ago

    I bought my first Chris Carter book a few months back not knowing who he was or if I would like the book. The first book I bought was an evil mind and I read it in two days… It is the best book I may have ever read. Now finding out that there is more than one book staring Robert Hunter, I am thrilled and am about to rush to the book store to buy all of his books.


  4. Char: 8 years ago

    I have read every one of Chris Carter’s books. They are so hard to put down. I sure hope that he is working on the next one and if so any idea as to when it may be out! Fantastic writer!


    • Juie: 8 years ago

      It was due out July 2016 but has now been moved to Feb 2017


  5. Robin: 10 years ago

    Just finished The Crucifix Killer and I have just one question? Where has Mr. Carter been hiding??? I’ve already downloaded The Executioner and can’t wait to begin reading it. However, I can’t seem to find the others on Kindle. Does anyone know why? I’m a dedicated audiophile, but I love the automatic results of Kindle! Mr. Carter, I have no idea how I’ve missed your books thus far, but I can assure you, it is a problem I will rectify immediately!


    • scorpion: 9 years ago

      I have read all of the Chris Carter books, can’t wait for the next…….brilliant writer, one of the best…….have recommended him to loads of people.


Leave a Reply