Chris McDonald is an author of crime thriller and mystery novels. He writes the DI Erika Piper series and the lighter Stonebridge Mysteries series. Aside from his writing, Chris is also a full-time teacher, husband and father. He also makes regular appearances on The Blood Brothers Podcast. Chris enjoys 5-a-side football, heavy metal, and dogs. He is originally from Northern Ireland, and lived in Lancaster and London, before settling in Manchester, England.

Chris McDonald made his debut as a novelist in 2020 with the novel A Wash of Black, introducing readers to DI Erika Piper. Below is a list of Chris McDonald’s books in order of when they were first published:

Get notified when Chris McDonald releases a new book at

Publication Order of DI Erika Piper Books

A Wash of Black (2020)Description / Buy at
Whispers in the Dark (2020)Description / Buy at
Roses for the Dead (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Stonebridge Mysteries Books

The Curious Dispatch of Daniel Costello (2021)Description / Buy at
Dead in the Water (2021)Description / Buy at
Meat is Murder (2021)Description / Buy at
The Case of the Missing Firefly (2021)Description / Buy at
Mistletoe and Crime (2021)Description / Buy at
All at Sea (2022)Description / Buy at

If You Like Chris McDonald Books, You’ll Love…

Chris McDonald Synopsis: A Wash of Black by Chris McDonald is the first DI Erika Piper novel. The body of famous actress Anna Symons is found mutilated on an ice rink in Manchester, recreating a scene from one of her films.

DI Erika Piper, having only recently returned to work after suffering a near-fatal attack herself, finds she must once again prove her worth as the hunt for the media-dubbed “Blood Ice Killer” intensifies.

But when another body is found and, this time, the killer issues a personal threat, Erika must put aside her demons to crack the case, or suffer the deadly consequences.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Chris McDonald Books

Leave a Reply