Cynthia Baxter
Cynthia Baxter is an American author of mystery, romance, women’s fiction and horror novels for adults and young adults. She began her career as a novelist writing teen, romantic, women’s and horror fiction under the name of Cynthia Blair. Cynthia is the author of the Pratt Twins (as Blair), Reigning Cats and Dogs Mysteries and Murder Packs a Suitcase Mysteries series. Besides being a novelist, she has also written for various newspapers and magazines and has also taught writing at Hofstra University.

Cynthia Baxter made her debut as a published author writing as Cynthia Blair with the 1981 novel Once There Was a Fat Girl. Her debut as Baxter (which she uses primarily for cozy mysteries, but also to reissue out-of-print titles) came in 2004 with the novel Dead Canaries Don’t Sing, which began her Reigning Cats and Dogs Mysteries series. Below is a list of Cynthia Baxter’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Cynthia Baxter releases a new book at

Publication Order of Pratt Twins Books

The Banana Split Affair (1984)Description / Buy at
The Hot Fudge Sunday Affair (1985)Description / Buy at
Strawberry Summer (1986)Description / Buy at
The Pumpkin Principle (1986)Description / Buy at
Marshmallow Masquerade (1987)Description / Buy at
The Candy Cane Caper (1987)Description / Buy at
The Pink Lemonade Charade (1988)Description / Buy at
The Double-Dip Disguise (1988)Description / Buy at
The Popcorn Project (1989)Description / Buy at
The Apple Pie Adventure (1989)Description / Buy at
The Jelly Bean Scheme (1990)Description / Buy at
The Lollipop Plot (1990)Description / Buy at
The Coconut Connection (1991)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Lickety Splits Ice Cream Shoppe Mystery Books

Murder with a Cherry on Top (2018)Description / Buy at
Hot Fudge Murder (2019)Description / Buy at
Last Licks (2019)Description / Buy at
Game of Cones (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Bubble Gum Gang Mysteries Books

There's No Such Thing as a Haunted House (1991)Description / Buy at
Chocolate Is My Middle Name (1992)Description / Buy at
Warning: Baby-Sitting May Be Hazardous to Your Health (1993)Description / Buy at
Buried Treasure... In My Own Attic (1994)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Dark Moon Legacy Books

Publication Order of Nightmares Books

Publication Order of Reigning Cats & Dogs Mystery Books

Dead Canaries Don't Sing (2004)Description / Buy at
Putting On The Dog (2004)Description / Buy at
Lead a Horse to Murder (2005)Description / Buy at
Hare Today, Dead Tomorrow (2006)Description / Buy at
Right from the Gecko (2007)Description / Buy at
Who's Kitten Who? (2007)Description / Buy at
Monkey See, Monkey Die (2008)Description / Buy at
Murder Had a Little Lamb (2009)Description / Buy at
Crossing the Lion (2010)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Murder Packs A Suitcase Mysteries Books

Murder Packs a Suitcase (2008)Description / Buy at
Too Rich and Too Dead (2009)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Once There Was a Fat Girl (1981)Description / Buy at
Lovers Choice (1981)Description / Buy at
Forever Rainbows (1982)Description / Buy at
Commitment (1982)Description / Buy at
Beautiful Dreamer (1983)Description / Buy at
Battle Scars (1983)Description / Buy at
Just Married (1984)Description / Buy at
All Our Secrets (1985)Description / Buy at
Starstruck (1986)Description / Buy at
Freedom to Dream (1987)Description / Buy at
Three of Us (1987)Description / Buy at
Crazy in Love (1988)Description / Buy at
Summer House (1989)Description / Buy at
Close to Home (1990)Description / Buy at
Going Solo (1991)Description / Buy at
A Summer in Paris (1992)Description / Buy at
Temptation (1993)Description / Buy at
Molly and the Great American Family (1994)Description / Buy at
Alaska Adventure (1995)Description / Buy at
Once More with Feeling (1996)Description / Buy at
The Housesitter (2011)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Pratt Twins, Bubble Gum Gang, Dark Moon Legacy and Nightmares series as well as all standalone novels (except for The Housesitter) were written as Cynthia Blair.

The standalone novels Close to Home, Summer House, Temptation, Once More with Feeling, Alaska Adventure and A Summer in Paris were re-published in eBook format as by Cynthia Baxter.

If You Like Cynthia Baxter Books, You’ll Love…

Cynthia Baxter Synopses: Chocolate is My Middle Name is the second book in the Bubble Gum Gang Mysteries series from Cynthia Blair. Kelly is accused of stealing jewelry from the store she’s working at, so the Bubble Gum Gang must look deeper into this crime and find the real culprit in order to clear their friend’s name.

In Warning: Baby-Sitting May Be Hazardous to Your Health by Cynthia Blair (book 3 of the Bubble Gum Gang Mysteries), Samantha’s father’s company is threatened by a corporate spy, so she and the Bubble Gum Gang are looking to catch this spy in the middle of the act.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Cynthia Baxter Books

Leave a Reply