Cynthia Hand is an American best known as the author and creator of the Unearthly and Lady Jane series of books.

Hand was born and raised in Idaho where she also attended university at the College of Idaho. She would go on to Boise State where she studied literary fiction and earned an M.F.A. in fiction writing. From there, she would attend the University of Nebraska-Lincoln where she got her Ph.D. in fiction writing. Moving to Nebraska was a huge step forward for her career as it was there that she published her first short story and also connected with an agent. She now lives in Boise, Idaho with her husband, children, and pets.

Get notified when Cynthia Hand releases a new book at

Publication Order of Unearthly Books

Publication Order of The Lady Janies Books

(with Jodi Meadows, Brodi Ashton)

My Lady Jane (2016)Description / Buy at
My Plain Jane (2018)Description / Buy at
My Calamity Jane (2020)Description / Buy at
My Contrary Mary (2021)Description / Buy at
My Imaginary Mary (2022)Description / Buy at
My Salty Mary (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Last Time We Say Goodbye (2015)Description / Buy at
The Afterlife of Holly Chase (2017)Description / Buy at
The How and the Why (2019)Description / Buy at
With You All the Way (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Life Inside My Mind(2018)Description / Buy at

If You Like Cynthia Hand Books, You’ll Love…

Unearthly is the first book in the series of the same name. The book has Clara Gardner, a woman who has just learned that she is part angel. The angel blood not only makes her stronger and faster than other humans, but it also gives her life a purpose. At least in theory, she knows there is a purpose but finding out what that purpose is is another story. She has visions that lead her to a new school and a new town where she meets Christian, the boy of her literal dreams, and Tucker, a boy who appeals to her non-angelic side. She’s had visions of a fire and when it strikes, will she be ready to face her destiny?

Hand is also the author of The Afterlife of Holly Chase. In this book, Holly Chase was visited by three Ghosts on Christmas Eve five years ago. Those ghosts tried to convince her to change her ways, but she didn’t and she died. In the afterlife she gets a job in Project Scrooge as a Ghost of Christmas Past. She finds the afterlife to be miserable, but her latest job just might change everything.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Cynthia Hand Books

Leave a Reply