Dani Shapiro is an American author best known for writing Family History and Black & White. She has also publishing multiple bestselling memoirs, including Slow Motion, Hourglass, and Inheritance.

In addition to her work as an author, Shapiro has also taught writing workshops as well as taught writing at Columbia and New York University. Shapiro has also worked in the world of film writing screenplays. She is also the host of her own podcast known as Family Secrets which sees her talking with a guest who has dealt with a family secret in their past, a topic that many of her books deal with.

Get notified when Dani Shapiro releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Playing with Fire (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Fugitive Blue (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Picturing the Wreck (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Family History (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Black & White (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Signal Fires (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Publication Order of Anthologies

If You Like Dani Shapiro Books, You’ll Love…

Family History follows a woman named Rachel Jensen. Rachel is perfect happy in her life with a husband she loves, a daughter she devotes herself to, and a fulfilling job restoring art. Plus, she’s pregnant again and expecting another child. However, Rachel soon learns how easily a perfect life can become unraveled. Her daughter, Kate, returns from camp a changed girl and not long after has a terrifying accident with her baby brother. Her guilt about the incident will cause her to reveal a dreadful lie, one that will change this family forever.

Inheritance is a memoir by Dani Shapiro that gets into a family secret revealed through a genealogy test. After submitting a DNA sample to a genealogy website, Dani found out that the man she thought of as her father was not actually her biological father. The secret made her rethink everything about her life. The book is about the secrets that we keep from our families or in the name of love, but it is also a book about Dani’s quest to unlock the truth about her own identity and who she is.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Dani Shapiro Books

Leave a Reply