Dervla McTiernan is an Irish author best known for writing the Cormac Reilly series of detective novels that started with The Ruin. That book has been optioned for a television adaptation and was also the pick for Amazon Best Book of July 2018.

Prior to her work as a writer, Dervla spent twelve years of her life working as a lawyer in Ireland. The global financial crisis ended up changing her life as she would move from Ireland to Australia. It was in Australia that she would try her hand at writing which has led to great success in her career. Dervla is a member of the Sisters in Crime and Crime Writers Association.

Get notified when Dervla McTiernan releases a new book at

Publication Order of Cormac Reilly Books

The Ruin (2018)Description / Buy at
The Scholar (2019)Description / Buy at
The Good Turn (2020)Description / Buy at
The Roommate (2020)Description / Buy at
Standalone audiobook The Sisters is a sort of prequel to this series.THe Roommate is a standalone prequel audio novella.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Sisters (2019)Description / Buy at
The Murder Rule (2022)Description / Buy at
The Fireground (2023)Description / Buy at
What Happened to Nina? (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

If You Like Dervla McTiernan Books, You’ll Love…

The Ruin was McTiernan’s first book and the first book in the Cormac Reilly series. Twenty years ago, Cormac Reilly discovered the body of Hilaria Blake twenty years ago and he’s never forgot the two children she left behind. One of those kids was Jack who has just been found in the freezing black waters of the river Corrib in Ireland, an apparent suicide. Cormac is sent back to Galway and is told to reopen the case of Hilaria Blake, but the other detectives are connecting Jack’s death to his mother’s and pointing the finger at his sister Maude. Cormac isn’t so sure.

Cormac returns in The Scholar when his girlfriend finds the victim of a hit-and-run outside Galway University, and calls him in right away. This is not a case he would’ve normally been assigned, but as the first on the scene he will need to investigate it. The girl is the heir apparent to Darcy Therapeutics, Ireland’s most successful pharmaceutical company, and the case is sure to be a scandal. With so much scrutiny over the case, Cormac’s methods are put under the microscope.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Dervla McTiernan Books

Leave a Reply